Winner

Communication

 
 

DOING FASHION PAPER


Institute of Fashion Design,
Academy of Art and Design, FHNW in Basel

Claudiabasel


Team:

Priska Morger (Creative Direction),
Andrea Sommer (Editor-in-chief), 
Jiri Oplatek (Art Director),
Kurt Zihlmann (Administration)


www.doingfashion.ch

www.claudiabasel.ch


DOING FASHION PAPER (DFP) is the title of a publication series which was created at the Institute of Fashion Design of the Academy of Art and Design, FHNW in Basel, and which emerged from the training concept of DOING FASHION. The essential objective of this teaching vessel is to create alternative spaces of action in the field of fashion design, in emancipation from the current understanding of fashion. DFP was worked out and implemented in close cooperation with the graphics office Claudiabasel. It offers a platform for fashion discourse in universities and encourages its further development. The top-quality print product is consciously seen as offering a basis for play and experiment. From the point of view of the book designer, the publication consists in applied research in the area of editorial design. Established rules are here being deliberately broken or converted into their opposites. The design evidently goes against mainstream trends, without dissipating any of its energy on negative attitudes.


Comments by the jury

The publication series DOING FASHION PAPER is the central communication medium of the Institute of Fashion Design at the Basel School of Art and Design, and exemplifies, both inwardly and outwardly, the experimental and avant-garde philosophy of the Institute. In addition, it reflects the professionalisation of the Basel school of fashion, its national and international positioning and its aspiration to make waves. The style of this reference publication, which has been coming out for five years now, is closely associated with the Institute’s understanding of its own role. Its experimental character finds expression in an unconventional, sometimes quite confusing, pictorial idiom, in a surprising selection of materials and in the variety of the printing techniques used.


Comments by the Nominators

This many-faceted publication series on fashion – a central communication medium of the Institute of Fashion Design, and illustrating the latter’s progressive style – stimulates interest by the way it keeps on developing. It aspires to be seen as an alternative to mainstream fashion discourse, and its design reflects and supports this ambition.

Nominations

Communication

 
 

DOING FASHION PAPER


Institute of Fashion Design,
Academy of Art and Design, FHNW in Basel

Claudiabasel


Team:

Priska Morger (Creative Direction),
Andrea Sommer (Editor-in-chief), 
Jiri Oplatek (Art Director),

Kurt Zihlmann (Administration)


www.doingfashion.ch

www.claudiabasel.ch


DOING FASHION PAPER (DFP) est le titre d'une série de publications qui a vu le jour à l'institut de design de mode de la HGK, FHNW de Bâle et qui a résulté du concept de formation DOING FASHION.  Le but principal de ces cours est de créer des espaces d'action alternatifs dans le domaine du design de mode et de se détacher du concept de mode conventionnelle. DFP, qui a été conçu et réalisé en étroite collaboration avec le bureau de graphisme Claudiabasel, offre une plateforme au discours sur la mode dans l'école et le fait avancer. Le produit imprimé de grande qualité est consciemment désigné comme une surface de jeu et d'expérimentation. À la vue des créateurs du livre, la publication est de la recherche appliquée dans le domaine du design éditorial. Les règles établies ont été enfreintes délibérément ou ont été inversées. Le graphisme va nettement à l'encontre du Mainstream sans adopter une attitude défaitiste exagérée.


Commentaire du jury

La série de publications DOING FASHION PAPER est l’élément de communication central de l’institut de design de mode de l’Ecole supérieure d’Art et de Design de Bâle. La série manifeste les dimensions expérimentale et avant-gardiste de l’institut vers l’extérieur et l’intérieur. Elle traduit également la professionnalisation de l’école de mode bâloise, son positionnement sur les scènes nationale et internationales et ses efforts afin d’attirer l’attention. Cette publication de référence est devenue en cinq années l’image que l’institut se fait de lui-même. Son caractère expérimental transparaît grâce à un langage imagé parfois déroutant loin de toute conventionalité, un choix surprenant des matériaux et une diversité des dispositifs d’impression.


Commentaire des nominateurs

Cette série de publications fournie axée sur la mode – un instrument de communication central de l’institut de design de mode dans lequel l'école exprime son style progressif – suscite un intérêt grâce à son évolution continue. Elle vise à être appréhendée comme une alternative au discours conventionnel de l'univers de la mode. Sa mise en forme reflète et appuie cette volonté.