Winner

Furniture

 
 

USM Privacy Panels


USM U. Schärer Söhne AG:

Alexander Schärer (CEO), Thomas Dienes
(Head of Product Development),
Carole Gerber (Head of Marketing Switzerland and Export Markets), Adrian Braun (Project Leader)


In collaboration with:

atelier oï: Armand Louis, Aurel Aebi, Patrick Reymond (Co-Founders)


www.usm.com

www.atelier-oi.ch


Whatever one may think of the open-plan office, it is a fact of social life. As long as this remains the case, there will be an urgent need for partitions and acoustic systems. The furniture company USM Haller has responded to this situation by developing its USM Privacy Panels – a flexible modular system for economically creating spatial areas which offer visual and acoustic privacy.Based on the modular matrix of the classic USM Haller furniture, the individual panels consist of highly compressed polyester fleece which is seamlessly attached to a framework of steel tubes. With these panels as building blocks, it is an easy matter to realise stable spatial arrangements in accordance with whatever is needed. The panels are available in different colours and in two design variants – either as a freestanding space divider, or as a table superstructure for use in combination with the office furniture.


Comments by the jury

USM’s Haller furniture system is a classic which has lost none of its topical relevance since it was developed and launched on the market decades ago. As a response to changes in the office environment – above all, to the need for the visual and acoustic screening of certain areas – the USM Privacy Panels represent an intelligent addition to the company’s market range. The sophisticated design of the product is in keeping with the best USM standards. Aesthetically restrained and at the same time visually appealing, the panels remain loyal to the modular idiom which has been characteristic of USM for many years. Sustainability has been served through the use of recycled materials.


Comments by the Nominators

To design a convincing extension of the classic USM range is a challenge in itself. The design technique solutions that the Privacy Panels come up with make a very solid impression. The texture of the panels results in an attractive play of light and shade.

Lauréat

Furniture

 
 

USM Privacy Panels


USM U. Schärer Söhne AG:

Alexander Schärer (CEO), Thomas Dienes
(Head of Product Development),
Carole Gerber (Head of Marketing Switzerland and Export Markets), Adrian Braun (Project Leader)


In collaboration with:

atelier oï: Armand Louis, Aurel Aebi, Patrick Reymond (Co-Founders)


www.usm.com

www.atelier-oi.ch


Le bureau à cloisons est une réalité commerciale, quelque soit notre avis à ce propos. Tant que cela reste le cas, les besoins urgents de systèmes de murs de séparation et de systèmes acoustiques existeront. L'entreprise de meubles USM Haller répond à ces besoins avec les USM Privacy Panels, un système modulaire et flexible pour créer des zones distinctes qui offre une intimité visuelle et acoustique, tout en économisant de l'espace.Formés sur la base des matrices modulaires des meubles USM Haller classiques, les panneaux sont constitués de non-tissé polyester à haute densité et reliés de manière fixe avec un cadre de tubes en acier. Avec ces panneaux, il est facile de réaliser une configuration spatiale stable selon les besoins. Les panneaux sont proposés en plusieurs couleurs et deux modèles, en tant que séparateur autonome ou comme construction pour table directement reliée au bureau.


Commentaire du jury

Le système de mobilier USM Haller est un grand classique n’ayant rien perdu de son actualité, des décennies après sa conception et son introduction sur le marché. En réaction aux changements des espaces de bureaux, en particulier le besoin de cloisonnements visuel et acoustique de certains domaines de travail, l’entreprise a introduit sur le marché les USM Privacy Panels, apport utile à sa gamme. Ce produit fini correspond aux standards les plus élevés d’USM. Esthétiquement discret et à la fois charmant, les panneaux restent fidèles au langage distinctif du design USM depuis toujours. L’exigence de durabilité est satisfaite par l’utilisation de matériaux recyclables.


Commentaire des nominateurs

Créer une séduisante alternative à la palette classique des USM est un véritable défi en soi. Les solutions techniques structurelles que sont les «Privacy Panels» donnent une véritable impression de solidité. La texture des panneaux garantit un jeu d'ombres et de lumières particulièrement attrayant.