Winner

Spatial

 
 

Krönlihalle Bar


Kollektiv Krönlihalle: 

Seraina Borner (Kunstumsetzerin, meinweiss) 

Barbara Brandmaier (Think Tank-Mitarbeiterin) 

Markus Läubl (Grafiker, Weicher Umbruch) 

Christoph Menzi (Filmeditor)

Andrea Münch (Grafikerin, Weicher Umbruch) 

Thomas Stächelin (Schreiner, feuerholz)


e-mail


The bar of the Kronenhalle in Zurich is one of the best known restaurants in Switzerland. Its legendary reputation is essentially owing to its interior, designed by Robert Haussmann in 1965. The Krönlihalle Bar was created as a temporary replica of this original, on a scale of 0.85 to 1, in a former lorry garage in Zurich West. The project was designed as a walk-in sculpture, a space within a space and at the same time as a functioning bar. It was intended to be both a tribute to the original designers, and at the same time a whimsical Trompe-l’oeil – this in view of the fact that the Krönlihalle Bar was everything that its predecessor is not, being cheap, trashy and temporary. The replica was realised with cheap materials, which could be recycled when it was dismantled. At its heart the project was a game involving perception through diminution, the use of ‘wrong’ materials and many small changes, in some cases deliberately concealed.


Comments by the jury

Zurich’s Kronenhalle Bar is a style icon with a reputation extending beyond Switzerland. At the same time it is an exclusive locality. The Krönlihalle Bar spatial installation was a humorous tribute which made this exceptional place accessible to the general public. In view of the discrepancy of scale and the use of deliberately cheap materials, the temporary replication of the legendary interior niggled at the viewer in a way that was both refreshing and exhilarating. The project as a whole testifies to a deep respect for the original, while still preserving a certain inner distance. The jury sees it as an outstanding example of intelligent design communication that does not lose its playfulness or its sense of humour.


Comments by the Nominators

An altogether charming and intelligent project, where more is meant than meets the eye. It can be understood as a playful tribute to a special place and its legendary designers. In this temporary spatial installation, everything was done properly – from the idea to the planning and realisation, from the operational phase to the documentation.

Lauréat

Spatial

 
 

Krönlihalle Bar


Kollektiv Krönlihalle: 

Seraina Borner (Kunstumsetzerin, meinweiss) 

Barbara Brandmaier (Think Tank-Mitarbeiterin) 

Markus Läubl (Grafiker, Weicher Umbruch) 

Christoph Menzi (Filmeditor)

Andrea Münch (Grafikerin, Weicher Umbruch) 

Thomas Stächelin (Schreiner, feuerholz)


e-mail


Le bar de Kronenhalle à Zurich est l'un des restaurants les plus connus en Suisse. Sa réputation légendaire est essentiellement due à l'intérieur conçu par Robert Haussmann en 1965. Le Krönlihalle Bar est une réplique temporaire de l'original à l'échelle 0,85 : 1 dans un ancien garage poids lourds dans l'ouest de Zurich. Le projet est conçu comme une sculpture accessible, comme l'espace dans l'espace et en même temps comme un bar qui prospère, et se considère comme un hommage aux créateurs mais aussi comme un trompe-l’oeil. Car le Krönlihalle Bar était tout ce que le modèle n'était pas: peu cher, trash et temporaire. La réplique fut réalisée avec des matériaux pas chers qui pouvaient être recyclés après le démontage. Au fond, le projet était un jeu avec la perception par la diminution, l'utilisation de «faux» matériaux et beaucoup de petits changements parfois dissimulés.


Commentaire du jury

Le bar Kronenhalle de Zurich est un local exclusif et une icône de style reconnue au delà des frontières suisses. Le lieu d’installation Krönlihalle Bar a rendu, en un clin d’oeil, cet espace hors du commun accessible au grand public. La réplique temporaire de cet intérieur de légende à déclenché une certaine irritation du fait des dimensions du projet et de l’utilisation de matériaux résolument moins coûteux. Cette irritation fut tout autant rafraîchissante que divertissante. Le projet témoigne d’un profond respect vis-à-vis de l’original tout en y apportant une certaine distance intérieure. Le jury y distingue l’exemple remarquable d’une médiation entre un design intelligent, ludique et humoristique.


Commentaire des nominateurs

Un projet extrêmement charmant, ingénieux et ambigu, qui dissimule un hommage amusant à un lieu spécifique et à son illustre concepteur. Tout, dans cette installation temporaire, a été fait comme il fallait - de l'idée jusqu'à l'implémentation, en passant par la planification, l'exploitation et la documentation autour du projet.