Winner

Textiles

 
 

Metal Base Kollektion 


Création Baumann AG, Langenthal


Designteam: 

Eliane Ernst, Christian Brunner,
Mario Klaus, Sibylle Aeberhard, Geneviève Hirt,
Brigitte Signer, Katharina Schäfer


www.creationbaumann.com


Façades with extensive areas of glass have been part of the formal repertoire of modern and contemporary architecture for decades. This gives rise to interiors where an abundance of natural light enters by way of the large window openings. These naturally call for measures whereby the input of light and heat can be regulated. This was the background to the development and launch of Création Baumann’s Metal Base Collection. It consists in highly functional curtain materials for windows, which serve as blinds and glare shields as well as keeping out heat and ultraviolet radiation. The effect is achieved through a special high-tech method which metallises the textiles with a choice of metals – brass, copper, aluminium or steel may be used. The materials of the Metal Base Collection are not only superlatively functional – their simple nobility and elegance are likewise impressive, making them equally suitable for use in the contract sector or in a private and domestic setting.


Comments by the jury

With Metal Base, Création Baumann has once again come up with a textile collection which combines innovative production technology with aesthetic added value. The development of the fabrics, which make an almost alchemical impression, was in response to a need resulting from contemporary architecture with its preference for glass façades. The collection uses the traditional advantages of textiles – protection against direct sunlight, and sound absorption – and adds yet another: the reflection of the light falling on the fabric, so as to reduce heat input. With their aesthetic qualities, Metal Base textiles can be used equally well in a domestic setting, in public spaces or in the office.


Comments by the Nominators

With these metallised fabrics Création Baumann is presenting what is actually a world novelty – and the result is convincing on both the functional and the aesthetic level. The collection is an answer in textiles to the call for ergonomically designed workplaces and climatic wellbeing in light-bathed buildings.

Preisträger

Textiles

 
 

Metal Base Kollektion 


Création Baumann AG, Langenthal


Designteam: 

Eliane Ernst, Christian Brunner,
Mario Klaus, Sibylle Aeberhard, Geneviève Hirt,
Brigitte Signer, Katharina Schäfer


www.creationbaumann.com


Grossflächig verglaste Fassaden gehören seit Jahrzehnten zum formalen Repertoire der modernen und zeitgenössischen Architektur. Die Dank großer Fensteröffnungen lichtdurchfluteten Innenräume, ,verlangen nach Massnahmen zur Regulierung von Licht und Wärme. In diesem Kontext ist die von Création Baumann lancierte Metal Base Kollektion entwickelt worden. Es handelt sich dabei um hochfunktionale Vorhangstoffe, die am Fenster zugleich als Sicht-, Blend-, Wärme- und UV-Schutz dienen. Dieser Effekt wird erreicht, indem die Textilien in einem speziellen, hochtechnischen Verfahren wahlweise mit Messing, Kupfer, Aluminium oder Stahl metallisiert werden. Die Stoffe der Metal Base Kollektion überzeugen neben ihrer Funktionalität durch ihre schlichte, aber noble Eleganz. Das macht sie für einen Einsatz im Objekt- und im privaten Wohnbereich gleichermassen geeignet.


Kommentar der Jury

Einmal mehr zeigt Création Baumann mit Metal Base eine Textilkollektion, bei der produktionstechnische Innovation und ästhetischer Mehrwert Hand in Hand gehen. Die Entwicklung dieser fast alchemistisch anmutenden Stoffe reagiert auf ein Bedürfnis, das sich aus der zeitgenössischen Architektur und deren Vorliebe für gläserne Fassaden ergibt. Die Kollektion nutzt die traditionellen Vorteile des Textils – Schutz vor direktem Sonnenlicht und Schallabsorption – und fügt eine weitere dazu: die Reflexion des einfallenden Lichtes, um den Wärmeeintrag zu vermindern. Dank ihrer ästhetischen Qualität können die Metal Base Stoffe sowohl im privaten Wohnbereich als auch im öffentlichen Raum und im Büro eingesetzt werden.


Bericht der Nominatoren

Mit den metallisierten Stoffen präsentiert Création Baumann tatsächlich eine Weltneuheit, die auf funktionaler und ästhetischer Ebene überzeugt. Die Kollektion ist eine textile Antwort auf die Forderung nach der ergonomischen Gestaltung von Arbeitsplätzen und nach klimatischem Wohlbefinden in lichtdurchfluteten Bauten.