Winner

Textiles

 
 

Metal Base Kollektion 


Création Baumann AG, Langenthal


Designteam: 

Eliane Ernst, Christian Brunner,
Mario Klaus, Sibylle Aeberhard, Geneviève Hirt,
Brigitte Signer, Katharina Schäfer


www.creationbaumann.com


Façades with extensive areas of glass have been part of the formal repertoire of modern and contemporary architecture for decades. This gives rise to interiors where an abundance of natural light enters by way of the large window openings. These naturally call for measures whereby the input of light and heat can be regulated. This was the background to the development and launch of Création Baumann’s Metal Base Collection. It consists in highly functional curtain materials for windows, which serve as blinds and glare shields as well as keeping out heat and ultraviolet radiation. The effect is achieved through a special high-tech method which metallises the textiles with a choice of metals – brass, copper, aluminium or steel may be used. The materials of the Metal Base Collection are not only superlatively functional – their simple nobility and elegance are likewise impressive, making them equally suitable for use in the contract sector or in a private and domestic setting.


Comments by the jury

With Metal Base, Création Baumann has once again come up with a textile collection which combines innovative production technology with aesthetic added value. The development of the fabrics, which make an almost alchemical impression, was in response to a need resulting from contemporary architecture with its preference for glass façades. The collection uses the traditional advantages of textiles – protection against direct sunlight, and sound absorption – and adds yet another: the reflection of the light falling on the fabric, so as to reduce heat input. With their aesthetic qualities, Metal Base textiles can be used equally well in a domestic setting, in public spaces or in the office.


Comments by the Nominators

With these metallised fabrics Création Baumann is presenting what is actually a world novelty – and the result is convincing on both the functional and the aesthetic level. The collection is an answer in textiles to the call for ergonomically designed workplaces and climatic wellbeing in light-bathed buildings.

Lauréat

Textiles

 
 

Metal Base Kollektion 


Création Baumann AG, Langenthal


Designteam: 

Eliane Ernst, Christian Brunner,
Mario Klaus, Sibylle Aeberhard, Geneviève Hirt,
Brigitte Signer, Katharina Schäfer


www.creationbaumann.com


Les vastes façades vitrifiées appartiennent au répertoire formel de l'architecture moderne et contemporaine depuis des décennies. Les pièces lumineuses grâce aux grandes baies vitrées qui en découlent exigent certes des mesures de régulation de l'apport de lumière et de chaleur. C'est dans ce contexte qu'a été développée la collection Metal Base lancée par Création Baumann. Il s'agit de tissus de rideaux très fonctionnels qui protègent des regards, de l'éblouissement, de la chaleur et des UV. Cet effet est atteint grâce à un procédé spécial et hautement technique durant lequel les textiles sont métallisés au choix avec du laiton, du cuivre, de l'aluminium ou de l'acier. Les tissus de la collection Metal Base convainquent grâce à leur élégance simple mais noble, en plus de leur fonctionnalité. Cela les rend appropriés pour une utilisation au même titre dans des zones professionnelles que dans des zones d'habitation privés.


Commentaire du jury

Une fois de plus, Création Baumann met en avant avec Metal Base une collection de textiles dans laquelle l’innovation des techniques de production et une plus-value esthétique vont de pair. Le développement de tissus quasi alchimiques est l’expression d’un besoin issu de l’architecture contemporaine et de son penchant pour les façades en verre. La collection utilise les avantages traditionnels du textile: la protection contre la lumière directe du soleil et l’absorption acoustique en y ajoutant la réflexion de la lumière incidente afin de diminuer l’apport de chaleur. Grâce à leur qualité esthétique, les tissus Metal Base peuvent être utilisés tout aussi bien dans les domaines privé et public qu’au bureau.


Commentaire des nominateurs

Avec ses tissus métallisés, Création Baumann présente une véritable nouveauté mondiale, sachant convaincre aussi bien d'un point de vue fonctionnel qu'esthétique. Cette collection est une réponse en termes textiles au défi consistant à trouver un aménagement ergonomique des places de travail et à créer une atmosphère de bien-être dans des constructions lumineuses.