Winner

Sustainable Impact Prize: Energy Efficient Lighting Technologies x Design

 
 

Turning the lamp into a luminaire – or to put it differently, finding the perfect marriage of the light source and the luminaire body – is an idea that easily suggests itself, and one that has already concerned designers for decades. The solution has now been found. In view of modern LED technology, with its long service life and energy efficiency, it is a project of particular topicality today – all the more so considering that LED light, by contrast with traditional forms of light technology, is not bound to a specific form like that of the light bulb.The present project – a genuine innovation – accordingly involves variously shaped fluorescent screens made of milky compressed glass with an integrated LED module. These, just like traditional light bulbs, can be screwed directly into a light fitting. Ampoule LMP comes across as the fusion of a lamp and an atmospherically appealing luminaire body. The resulting product is an object of interest, not least in view of its sustainable and economic potential.


Comments by the jury

The work has been based on the fundamental idea, as simple as it is smart, of directly combining the luminous element with the lamp itself. Provided that production can be realised on an industrial scale, the market potential of the design, which at the same time defines a new product genre, is enormous. The all-in-one approach followed here meets the demand for sustainability by using energy-efficient and long-lasting LED technology, as well as by the choice of the recyclable material glass. Serial production would make it possible for the product to be marketed at a reasonable price, as an attractive solution for many kinds of lighting scenario. The different models and sizes are an invitation to think up entertaining combinations.


Comments by the Nominators

A convincingly intelligent solution which incorporates LED technology in a glass lampshade, so as to optimise the diffusion of light and create a powerfully atmospheric innovation – and it is a world first! The easily recyclable glass material is in keeping with the long life of the LEDs.

Lauréat

Sustainable Impact Prize: Energy Efficient Lighting Technologies x Design

 
 

Faire de l'ampoule une lampe - trouver la combinaison parfaite entre la source lumineuse et l’abat-jour - est une idée toute simple qui occupe pourtant les designers depuis déjà plusieurs décennies. L’ampoule LMP est la solution. La technologie moderne de la LED, qui a su convaincre grâce à sa durabilité et son efficacité énergétique, est aujourd'hui particulièrement d'actualité. D'autant plus que les LED, contrairement aux technologies d'éclairage traditionnelles, comme par exemple l'ampoule incandescente, n'a pas besoin de forme spécifique de bulbe.L’innovation du projet permet d’avoir directement la lentille de diffusion intégrée au verre opalin en le fabriquant par estampage. L’ampoule LMP possède le même culot de fixation que les ampoules traditionnelles et se visse tout aussi simplement. Par la fusion entre l’agent lumineux et l’abat-jour, l’ampoule LMP n’est plus seulement source de lumière mais aussi source d’atmosphère. Ampoule LMP se présente comme la fusion d'un agent lumineux et d'une coupole esthétique qui paraît notamment intéressante grâce à son potentiel durable et économique.


Commentaire du jury

Le travail a un principe de base simple mais pourtant intelligent: relier directement entre eux l’éclairage et les luminaires. Présupposant une fabrication à échelle industrielle, le marché potentiel de ce prototype est énorme. L’approche «tout-en-un» réalisée ici répond à une demande de durabilité, d’une part par l’utilisation d’une technologie LED efficace du point de vue énergétique et d’autre part par un matériau recyclable, le verre. Une fabrication en série rendrait possible la mise sur le marché de ce produit en tant que solution attrayante pour de nombreux besoins d’éclairage, et ce à un prix raisonnable. Les différents modèles et tailles invitent à des combinaisons ludiques.


Commentaire des nominateurs

Ce produit atteste d'une intégration ingénieuse de la technologie LED dans un abat-jour en verre, afin d'optimiser la diffusion de la lumière et de créer une atmosphère de caractère - une nouveauté mondiale! Le verre, un matériau facilement recyclable, s'aligne sur la longue durée de vie des LED.