Winner

Communication

 
 

Lichtfries am Neubau des
Kunstmuseums Basel

iart ag, Design und Engineering

Valentin Spiess, Steffen Blunk, Oliver Heyerick, Lucien Iseli, Gordon Jaentsch


Christ & Gantenbein, Design und Architektur

Emanuel Christ, Christoph Gantenbein, Julia Tobler, Michael Bertschmann, Stephanie Hirschvogel


Ludovic Balland, Typografie


Technical partners:

Multivision LED-Systeme GmbH (LED-Hardware),
ZPF Ingenieure AG (Bauingenieur)


Client:

Bau- und Verkehrsdepartement Basel-Stadt,
Städtebau & Architektur, Hochbauamt

www.iart.ch

The light frieze forms part of the new building of Kunstmuseum Basel – the Basel Fine Arts Museum –, which was formally opened in 2016. It consists of an LED-based light installation, in the form of a band 3 metres high and 115 metres long, which encircles the building at a height of 12 metres. By contrast with other media façades the frieze, which comes across as a symbiosis of stone and light, has an actual physical presence and constitutes an integral component of the architecture. Making a sophisticated use of the existing horizontal structure of joints, it projects a subtle display of texts and patterns onto the skin of the building, creating the impression of a fleeting play of light and shadow. The LEDs inserted in the joints cannot be seen from the street. They respond dynamically to the changing light situation in the course of the day. Conceived as a media membrane, the light frieze amounts, in both technological and aesthetic terms, to an extrapolation into the digital age of an architectural element that has been familiar since antiquity.


Comments of the nominators

Though limited in magnitude and range, this carefully developed and perfectly realised communication project represents a sculptural and technological achievement. The frieze transforms the façade of the museum into an effective communication medium capable of representing the living face of the institution.


Comments by the Jury


The light frieze project forming part of the new building of the Basel Fine Arts Museum made an overwhelming impact on both the hearts and the minds of the jury. The light installation makes as convincing an impression in conceptual terms as it does through its sophisticated technical/practical realisation and the aesthetic effect it achieves. A frieze is a very ancient, traditional architectural element, which from time immemorial has combined an ornamental function with communication. Here it has been translated into a form suitable for the digital age, and the gratifying result is an absolutely resounding success. The project content embodies references to the museum as an institution at a number of points, which provides a fruitful basis for the repeated replaying of the installation. The jury would also like to pay tribute to the light frieze as a textbook example of a successfully integrated planning process, where designers and architects have all been able to contribute their special skills.

Winner

Communication

 
 

Lichtfries am Neubau des
Kunstmuseums Basel

iart ag, Design und Engineering

Valentin Spiess, Steffen Blunk, Oliver Heyerick, Lucien Iseli, Gordon Jaentsch


Christ & Gantenbein, Design und Architektur

Emanuel Christ, Christoph Gantenbein, Julia Tobler, Michael Bertschmann, Stephanie Hirschvogel


Ludovic Balland, Typografie


Technical partners:

Multivision LED-Systeme GmbH (LED-Hardware),
ZPF Ingenieure AG (Bauingenieur)


Client:

Bau- und Verkehrsdepartement Basel-Stadt,
Städtebau & Architektur, Hochbauamt

www.iart.ch

La frise lumineuse du nouveau bâtiment du Kunstmuseum Basel – Musée d’art de Bâle inauguré en 2016 – est une installation lumineuse à base de LED entourant le bâtiment à une hauteur de 12 mètres d’une bande de 3 mètres de haut et de 115 mètres de long. À la différence des autres façades médiatiques, la frise, qui se présente comme symbiose entre la pierre et la lumière, fait ici également partie intégrante de l’architecture au sens physique. Elle utilise de façon raffinée la structure horizontale prédéfinie des joints des façades en briques, joue de façon subtile avec l’enveloppe du bâtiment, le texte et les éléments de forme, qui apparaissent sous forme d’images furtives de lumière et d’ombre. Les LED insérées dans les joints, invisibles depuis la rue, réagissent ainsi de façon dynamique aux différences de lumière durant la journée. La frise lumineuse est conçue comme membrane médiatique et fait entrer dans l’ère numérique, tant sur le plan technologique qu’esthétique, un élément architectural connu depuis l’antiquité.


Commentaire du nominateurs

Ce projet de communication développé avec soin et mis en œuvre de façon parfaite est une réalisation sculpturale et technologique, même si sa taille et sa portée sont limitées. Grâce à la frise, la façade du musée devient un moyen de communication efficace et donne un visage vivant à l’institution.


Commentaire du jury    

Le projet Frise lumineuse du nouveau bâtiment du Musée d’art de Bâle a su parler tant à la raison qu’au coeur du jury. L’installation de lumières séduit, tant sur le plan conceptuel que par sa mise en oeuvre sophistiquée dans les domaines technique et pratique, et par son effet esthétique. Une frise est un élément architectural traditionnel très ancien qui combine depuis toujours décoration et communication. Son passage à l’ère du numérique est effectué de façon tout à fait exemplaire, pour notre plus grand bonheur. Les références du projet à l’institution du musée sont nombreuses. Cela permet une projection de l’installation fructueuse et toujours renouvelée. Le jury récompense également la frise lumineuse car elle est l’exemple type d’un processus de planification intégral réussi, alliant les compétences du designer et de l’architecte.