Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

SORRY

Julian Zigerli – Head of Design

Stephanie Kamber – Production Manager
Anja Brühlmann – Sales Manager
Regula Büchel – Print Design Collaborator
Rebecca Ammann – Assistant
Lucie Guiragossian – Intern

Joanna Wyss – Intern


Bag design in collaboration with:

QWSTION


www.julianzigerli.com

Julian Zigerli’s spring and summer collection for 2017, Sorry, is his twelfth, and the first in which he has included styles for women. A wide range of articles of clothing gives rise to a comprehensive all-round assortment. Sorry, Zigerli says, stands for “all the things for which we should be sorry and should not be sorry”. But we have to do here with quite harmless peccadilloes, so the suggestion of an apology is in fact not seriously meant at all. In the end, consistently enough, the motto emerges as: Sorry, not sorry, never sorry.


In keeping with this airy utterance, the materials chosen for the collection have a light summery touch: lots of linen, thin cotton, denim-coloured knits. Cooperation with other designers and artists for the creation of textile prints is one of Zigerli’s trademarks. This time he has worked with Zurich product designer Regula Büchel. With the help of a 3D animation program they have developed flower and cloud prints – suitable symbols for that carelessly ironic Sorry. The bags on the other hand, made of reflective nylon, were created in partnership with the sought-after label QWSTION.


Comments of the nominators

Julian Zigerli has won great national and international acclaim in recent years. To look no further, he has featured more than once on Design Prize Switzerland. Without any doubt, he is one of the most important representatives of the young and contemporary Swiss fashion scene, offering men in particular a stylistic alternative that does not disguise the wearer. Even if his styles may perhaps have become a shade more commercial – as is only understandable – his fashions remain fresh, fun, sexy and original.

Nominee

Fashion Design

 
 

SORRY

Julian Zigerli – Head of Design

Stephanie Kamber – Production Manager
Anja Brühlmann – Sales Manager
Regula Büchel – Print Design Collaborator
Rebecca Ammann – Assistant
Lucie Guiragossian – Intern

Joanna Wyss – Intern


Bag design in collaboration with:

QWSTION


www.julianzigerli.com

La collection printemps/été 2017 Sorry par Julian Zigerli est sa douzième collection, et la première dans laquelle il a également inclus des projets pour femmes. Une large palette de vêtements pour une gamme complète. D’après Zigerli, Sorry représente «toutes les choses pour lesquelles nous devrions être désolés et celles pour lesquelles nous ne devrions pas l’être». Il s’agit ici toutefois de manquements anodins, et la demande d’excuses sous-entendue n’est donc pas du tout prise au sérieux. Le mot d’ordre est Sorry, not sorry, never sorry.


Dans l’esprit de ce Sorry prononcé à la légère, les matières choisies pour la collection ont un aspect léger, estival: beaucoup de lin, des cotons fins, du tricot de couleur denim. La coopération avec d’autres designers et artistes pour les imprimés des textiles est la marque de fabrique de Zigerli. Cette fois, il a travaillé avec la designer produit zurichoise Regula Büchel. À l’aide d’un programme d’animation en 3D, ils ont créé des imprimés avec des fleurs et des nuages – des symboles adaptés pour un Sorry insouciant et ironique. Les sacs en nylon réfléchissant sont quant à eux nés de la coopération avec la marque à la mode QWSTION.


Comments of the nominators

Julian Zigerli, qui a ces dernières années reçu une grande reconnaissance aux niveaux national et international – il a été notamment proposé plusieurs fois pour le Prix Design Suisse –, fait sans aucun doute partie des principaux représentants de la scène suisse jeune et contemporaine de la mode; il propose en particulier aux hommes une alternative stylistique qui ne déguise pas celui qui porte les vêtements. Même si ses projets sont peutêtre devenus un peu moins commerciaux – ce qui peut bien se comprendre –, ses collections restent fraîches, amusantes, sexy et originales.