Nominee

Product – Consumer Goods

 
 

Waltz N°1

Miloš Ristin – Product Design


Carl Suchy & Söhne

Robert Punkenhofer – CEO


NobleTime

Marc Jenni – Inhaber

Uhrmacher AHC  


proxi.me

Reinhard Steger – Inhaber

Markenbildung & Grafik


www.milos.ristin.net

www.carlsuchy.com

The Carl Suchy & Söhne watch brand was founded in Prague in 1822. Established in Vienna as well since 1863, its pocket watches, which were even then being produced in Switerland, earned it the title of Purveyor to the Imperial and Royal Court. With the death of the second generation of the Suchy family, however, the brand which is still coveted by collectors today disappeared around the turn of the century.


After an interval of a good hundred years, the brand is now being resuscitated in the Waltz Nº1 wrist watch. Completely developed and produced in Switzerland, the watch comes with a top-quality watch mechanism and measures up to the highest standards of the industry. The design harks back to the Vienna Secession, an exciting time for designers, and has links with the work of the architect Adolf Loos. Its notable and characteristic feature, apart from the “waltzing” seconds disc – a reference to the Viennese waltz –, is the concave and asymmetrically decorated watch face.


Comments of the nominators


At a time laden with difficulty for the watch industry, reviving a traditional brand and giving it a new face takes courage. The young designer has successfully met this challenge head on. The design of the watch face has conspicuous recognition value, lending the watch a fresh and contemporary aesthetic along with a touch of luxury.

Nominee

Product – Consumer Goods

 
 

Waltz N°1

Miloš Ristin – Product Design


Carl Suchy & Söhne

Robert Punkenhofer – CEO


NobleTime

Marc Jenni – Inhaber

Uhrmacher AHC  


proxi.me

Reinhard Steger – Inhaber

Markenbildung & Grafik


www.milos.ristin.net

www.carlsuchy.com

La marque horlogère Carl Suchy & Söhne a été fondée à Prague en 1822. Domiciliée à Vienne également depuis 1863, elle obtient grâce à ses montres déjà fabriquées en Suisse à l’époque le titre de fournisseur de la Cour impériale et royale. Toutefois, au tournant du siècle, à la mort de la deuxième génération Suchy, la marque, très prisée aujourd’hui parmi les collectionneurs, disparaît.


Après une pause de plus d’un siècle, la marque est aujourd’hui ressuscitée avec la montre Waltz N°1. Développée et produite entièrement en Suisse, équipée d’un mécanisme horloger de qualité, la montre répond aux plus hautes exigences de l’industrie. Le style s’inspire de l’époque mouvementée de l’histoire du design de la Sécession viennoise, et de l’œuvre de l’architecte Adolf Loos. En plus de l’aiguille des secondes «valseuse», à qui elle doit son nom et qui doit être lue en référence aux valses de Vienne, sa caractéristique de reconnaissance est son cadran concave, décoré de façon asymétrique.


Commentaire du nominateurs


À une époque difficile pour l’industrie horlogère, il est très courageux de faire revivre une marque de tradition avec un nouveau visage. Le jeune designer a relevé le défi avec succès. Le design du cadran a une forte valeur de reconnaissance. Il donne à la montre une esthétique fraîche et contemporaine, et une touche de luxe.