Nominee

Product – Investment Goods

 
 

Aebi Terratrac TT281
Hang Geräteträger

The Aebi Terratrac Mountain Tractor, which was specially developed for working on steep and irregular mountain slopes, is among the icons of Swiss agricultural machinery. The characteristic feature of the equipment carrier, which has been produced since the 1970s, is the asymmetrical structure of its bodywork. Locating the engine next to the driver’s cabin made it possible to keep the vehicle’s centre of gravity close to the ground. The TT281 is the latest version of this tractor, which is marketed worldwide.


The design of the bodywork shows three horizontal layers, which lie along the slope like parallel bands and make the low-slung centre of gravity of the vehicle visually conspicuous. The lower level is made up of the grey chassis, including the engine. The middle, red layer separates the body from the cabin and lies along the vehicle like a dynamic band over which the cabin seems to hover. While optically extending the length of the vehicle, the red band results in a compact all-round impression and radiates robustness.


Comments of the nominators

A successful further development, and modernisation in design terms, of a proven and admirable agricultural machine. The form and the colour effectively underline the low centre of gravity of the vehicle. The bodywork makes a robust and compact impression, but at the same time suggests lightness and elasticity. The design combines typical Swiss simplicity with contemporary dynamism.

Nominee

Product – Investment Goods

 
 

Aebi Terratrac TT281
Hang Geräteträger

Le tracteur de montagne Aebi Terratrac, développé pour le travail sur les versants escarpés et inégaux des montagnes, est une des machines agricoles suisses iconiques. La caractéristique du porteoutils, fabriqué depuis les années 1970, est sa carrosserie asymétrique. Le moteur se situe à côté de la cabine du conducteur, ce qui permet de maintenir le point de gravité du véhicule très bas. Le TT281 est la dernière version du tracteur utilisé dans le monde entier.


La conception de la carrosserie montre trois couches horizontales posées comme des bandes sur la pente et mettant visuellement l’accent sur le point de gravité bas du véhicule. La couche inférieure est formée par le châssis, toujours en gris, et le compartiment moteur. La couche rouge au milieu sépare le moteur de la cabine et est posée sur le véhicule comme une bande dynamique. La cabine semble flotter au-dessus. La bande rouge donne l’impression que le véhicule est plus long, tout en donnant d’un autre côté une image globale compacte avec une impression de robustesse.


Comments of the nominators

Perfectionnement réussi et modernisation du design d’une machine agricole éprouvée et remarquable. La forme et la couleur soulignent bien le point de gravité bas du véhicule. La carrosserie a un aspect robuste et compact, tout en donnant également une impression de légèreté et d’élasticité. Le design allie simplicité suisse et dynamique contemporaine.