Winner

Rado Star Prize Switzerland
for Young Talents – Product Design

 
 

SteriLux – Affordable sterilization device for developing countries

Jordane Vernet

– Designer, BA ECAL, MSc Innokic


SteriLux SA

Marc Spaltenstein – MSc Life Sciences EPFL, CEO


Lucas Meyer – MSc Mechanical Eng. EPFL, CTO


Michael Stettler – 5th year EPFL Life Sciences, CFO


Raphaël Blancher – MSc Mechanical Eng. UTBM,

Operations Manager


Blaise Béguin – MSc Microengineering EPFL,

R&D Hardware Engineer


Sylvain Felber – BSc Design and Ergonomy, HE-ARC,

R&D Product Engineer


Cyril Stuber – 5th year EPFL Microengineering,

Software Engineer


Achille Othenin-Girard – MSc Life Sciences EPFL,

Regulatory Engineer, SteriLux SA


www.sterilux.ch

Based on figures of the WHO, something like 1.4 million human beings at any time suffer from a potentially life-threatening infection which they have contracted in the course of medical treatment. Particularly at risk are patients in undeveloped countries and crisis regions where there is a lack of resources – equipment, clean water and energy – for sterilisation to be reliably carried out. The start-up company SteriLux is responding to this problem. The system, which was developed by scientists and designers working closely together, is technically based on an innovative sterilisation method relying on ultraviolet light and ozone. It consists of just two elements – a plastic box, in which the instruments are not only sterilised but can also be transported and stored for up to six months, and a kind of battery-powered mother station which triggers, monitors and documents the sterilisation process. In comparison with traditional sterilisation methods, SteriLux offers considerable advantages: significantly reduced energy consumption, minimal non-distilled water requirements, mobility and user-friendly operation.


Comments of the nominators

The project impresses with its straightforward semantic design, intuitive functionality and through the incorporation of highly innovative technology. The simplicity and practical usefulness of the design is thoroughly convincing, and guarantees that the system will be capable of being used even in extreme situations.


Comments by the Jury

It is a truism that the success of medical operations is dependent on the use of sterile instruments. It is less well known that in some regions of the world there are considerable problems in this connection. So a group of scientists is developing a completely innovative method of sterilisation, which can be used even in difficult external circumstances. They are seeking to involve input from designers at an early stage, with a view to giving the equipment associated with the method a user-friendly form. This is a clever move, which makes a crucial contribution to the success of the project and cannot be rated too highly. Developed by the joint efforts of a team, the SteriLux system has impressed the jury right across the board, and has deserved an award from

Design Prize Switzerland if for no other reason than that it helps to save human lives.

Winner

Rado Star Prize Switzerland
for Young Talents – Product Design

 
 

SteriLux – Affordable sterilization device for developing countries

Jordane Vernet

– Designer, BA ECAL, MSc Innokic


SteriLux SA

Marc Spaltenstein – MSc Life Sciences EPFL, CEO


Lucas Meyer – MSc Mechanical Eng. EPFL, CTO


Michael Stettler – 5th year EPFL Life Sciences, CFO


Raphaël Blancher – MSc Mechanical Eng. UTBM,

Operations Manager


Blaise Béguin – MSc Microengineering EPFL,

R&D Hardware Engineer


Sylvain Felber – BSc Design and Ergonomy, HE-ARC,

R&D Product Engineer


Cyril Stuber – 5th year EPFL Microengineering,

Software Engineer


Achille Othenin-Girard – MSc Life Sciences EPFL,

Regulatory Engineer, SteriLux SA


www.sterilux.ch

D’après les chiffres de l’OMS, tous les jours, environ 1,4 million de personnes souffrent d’une infection souvent mortelle contractée durant un traitement médical. Ce sont surtout les patients vivant dans des pays en voie de développement et dans des zones de crise qui sont touchés, par manque de ressources – appareils, eau propre et énergie – nécessaires pour une stérilisation fiable des instruments médicaux. La start-up SterilLux réagit à cette situation problématique. Le système, développé en collaboration étroite entre scientifiques et designers, se base du point de vue technique sur une méthode de stérilisation innovatrice à l’aide de la lumière ultraviolette et de l’ozone. Il est composé de deux éléments: une boîte en plastique dans laquelle les instruments peuvent non seulement être stérilisés mais aussi transportés et stockés pendant six mois, et un genre de station-mère à piles qui démarre le processus de stérilisation, le surveille et le documente. SteriLux offre des avantages considérables par rapport à la méthode de stérilisation habituelle: réduction notable de la consommation d’énergie, besoin en eau non distillée minimal, mobilité et utilisation simple.


Commentaire du nominateurs

Le projet impressionne par son design simple, sémantique, son fonctionnement intuitif et la connexion à une technologie très innovatrice. La simplicité et la praticabilité du design séduisent entièrement et garantissent de pouvoir utiliser le système même dans des situations extrêmes.

Commentaire du jury    

Il est évident que la réussite des interventions médicales dépend de la stérilité des instruments. Ce que l’on sait moins, c’est cela cause des problèmes importants dans certaines régions du monde. Un groupe de scientifiques a donc mis au point une méthode de stérilisation innovante qui peut être utilisée même dans des conditions extérieures difficiles. Ils ont collaboré avec des designers afin de donner une forme pratique aux équipements nécessaires à la mise en place de la méthode. Une étape intelligente qui participe considérablement à la réussite du projet, et qu’il est malheureusement impossible d’estimer à sa juste valeur. Le système Sterilux, développé dans le cadre d’une collaboration, séduit entièrementle jury et mérite d’être récompensé par le Prix Design Suisse, ne serait-ce queparce qu’il aide à sauver des vies humaines.