Nominee

Research

 
 

e – Broidery 2.0

Hochschule Luzern

– Design & Kunst

Isabel Rosa Müggler, Tina Tomovic, Björn Schrader


Forster Rohner Textile Innovations

Jan Zimmermann, Anja Schlisske


NTB Interstaatliche Hochschule für Technik Buchs

René Grabher


Création Baumann AG

Mario Klaus


Lighting Research Studio

Markus Reisinger


Supported by:

Kommission für Technologie

und Innovation KTI


www.hslu.ch

e – Broidery is a term designating textiles with electronic components like LEDs, which have been incorporated in textile fabrics with the help of industrial embroidery techniques. The development of a manufacturing process suitable for the process formed part of the first e – Broidery research project, completed in 2013. Following this initial success, the subsequent project e – Broidery 2.0 concentrated in the first instance on extending the technological range with the addition of dynamic and chromatic light. Now a technical solution has been found as the basis for activating, saving and displaying light images of changing complexity, colours and dynamics in the textile.


The design conception of e – Broidery products faces designers with new challenges, because formerly static components like material, form and colour now have to be combined with the dynamic component of the light. Several tools have been deaveloped and summarised in a design guide. These lend support to the complex design process and give it a structure, with the aim of bringing product ideas located at the interface of light and textiles to the point of market maturity.


Comments of the nominators

This project, which has been carried out at the highest level, makes it plain that when it comes to applied research and innovation, what counts is not the creation of a new product category so much as the opening up of new markets. On the one hand the developers have been successful in expanding the technical possibilities for the manufacture of luminous textiles, while on the other hand they have provided important tools showing designers how luminous textiles can be used.

Nominee

Research

 
 

e – Broidery 2.0

Hochschule Luzern

– Design & Kunst

Isabel Rosa Müggler, Tina Tomovic, Björn Schrader


Forster Rohner Textile Innovations

Jan Zimmermann, Anja Schlisske


NTB Interstaatliche Hochschule für Technik Buchs

René Grabher


Création Baumann AG

Mario Klaus


Lighting Research Studio

Markus Reisinger


Supported by:

Kommission für Technologie

und Innovation KTI


www.hslu.ch

e – Broidery désigne des textiles aux composants électroniques, par exemple des LED, intégrés dans les surfaces textiles à l’aide de broderie industrielle. Le développement d’un processus de fabrication adapté était l’objet du premier projet de recherche e – Broidery, terminé en 2013. Après sa réussite, le projet suivant a été lancé, e – Broidery 2.0, tout dans un premier temps pour élargir la technologie à la lumière dynamique et chromatique. Le concept technique de la commande, de l’enregistrement et de la représentation d’images lumineuses, avec sa complexité, ses couleurs et sa dynamique, s’intègre aujourd’hui au monde du textile.


La conception des produits e- Broidery crée de nouveaux défis liés au design, car le projet doit combiner les composants jusqu’ici statiques tels que le matériau, la forme et la couleur aux composants dynamiques de la lumière. Plusieurs outils ont pu être développés et réunis dans un Design Guide afin de soutenir le processus complexe de design et lui donner une structur, et amener à maturité des idées de produit associant la lumière et textile.

Commentaire du nominateurs

Ce projet exécuté à haut niveau montre clairement que la recherche appliquée et l’innovation n’ont pas pour seul objectif de créer une nouvelle catégorie de produit, mais aussi de conquérir de nouveaux marchés. D’une part, les possibilités techniques de fabrication de textiles lumineux ont pu être élargies, et d’autre part des moyens auxiliaires importants pour le design des textiles lumineux ont été développés.