Nominee

Research

 
 

HOUSE 1

ALICE Studio EPFL –

École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Dieter Dietz with 1st year students BA architecture (2016):

Daniel Zamarbide, Raffael Baur, Edouard Cabay, Laurent Chassot, Nicolas Dürr, Margherita Del Grosso, Alexa den Hartog, Stéphane Grandgirard, Patricia Guaita, Agathe Mignon, Andrea Pellacani, Laura Perez Lupi, Anne-Chantal Rufer, Wynd van der Woude with Thibault Smith


Lead engineer timber construction:

Rémy Meylan, architect & wood engineer, Whood x Mug


Sponsored by:

Getaz-Miauton SA, Debrunner Acifer SA Romandie, Marti Construction SA, Roth échafaudages SA, E.S.


alice.epfl.ch

HOUSE 1 came into being under the auspices of the Faculty of Architecture at EPFL, as a joint project by over 200 students in their first year. It was initiated and planned by the faculty’s Atelier de la Conception de L’Espace (Spatial Planning Studio), which sees space as being an interface between human and technological processes. Within the architecture course the project served as an experimental format for cooperative design and construction. The house was programmed as a series of mutually contextualising spaces within a defined framework – measuring 11×11×11 metres, and using timber frame construction, based on the balloon frame principle. So the spatial experience that HOUSE 1 offers has nothing in common with what you would expect from a consistently homogeneous form of architecture. Instead it resembles an unfolding process of evolution. Space itself is called in question here, oscillating between different possibilities and showing itself open to different interpretations.


Comments of the nominators

As a successful building experiment, the project is impressive. By contrast with buildings that follow a master plan, HOUSE 1 resulted from the interaction of several teams. After each of the teams had defined an independent and self-sufficient space, the next step was to engage in dialogue, with the aim of developing a connected and mutually interpenetrating structure within the prescribed framework.

Nominee

Research

 
 

HOUSE 1

ALICE Studio EPFL –

École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Dieter Dietz with 1st year students BA architecture (2016):

Daniel Zamarbide, Raffael Baur, Edouard Cabay, Laurent Chassot, Nicolas Dürr, Margherita Del Grosso, Alexa den Hartog, Stéphane Grandgirard, Patricia Guaita, Agathe Mignon, Andrea Pellacani, Laura Perez Lupi, Anne-Chantal Rufer, Wynd van der Woude with Thibault Smith


Lead engineer timber construction:

Rémy Meylan, architect & wood engineer, Whood x Mug


Sponsored by:

Getaz-Miauton SA, Debrunner Acifer SA Romandie, Marti Construction SA, Roth échafaudages SA, E.S.


alice.epfl.ch

HOUSE 1 entstand im Rahmen der Architekturausbildung an der EPFL als Gemeinschaftswerk von über 200 Studierenden des ersten Jahres. Initiiert und konzipiert wurde es vom dortigen Atelier de la Conception de L’Espace, das den Raum als Schnittstelle von menschlichen und technologischen Prozessen begreift. Innerhalb der Architekturausbildung dient das Projekt als experimentelles Format für gemeinschaftliches Entwerfen und Bauen. Programmiert wurde das Haus als Serie von sich gegenseitig kontextualisierenden Räumen innerhalb eines definierten Rahmens – Grösse von 11×11×11 Metern und Konstruktion als Holzrahmenbau nach dem Balloon-Frame-Prinzip. Die räumliche Erfahrung, die sich im HOUSE 1 bietet, entspricht daher nicht der, die man von einer in sich homogenen Architektur erwartet, sondern ähnelt eher einer sich entfaltenden Evolution: Raum wird hier in Frage gestellt, er schwankt zwischen verschiedenen Möglichkeiten und zeigt sich offen für Interpretationen.


Comments of the nominators

Das Projekt beeindruckt als gebautes Experiment. Anders als bei Bauten, die einem Masterplan folgen, entstand HOUSE 1 in der Interaktion verschiedener Teams. Nachdem diese jeweils einen eigenständigen, unabhängigen Raum definierten, galt es, in einem dialogischen Prozess und innerhalb eines vorgegebenen Rahmens daraus eine verbundene und sich durchdringende Struktur zu entwickeln.