Nominee

Research

 
 

HOUSE 1

ALICE Studio EPFL –

École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Dieter Dietz with 1st year students BA architecture (2016):

Daniel Zamarbide, Raffael Baur, Edouard Cabay, Laurent Chassot, Nicolas Dürr, Margherita Del Grosso, Alexa den Hartog, Stéphane Grandgirard, Patricia Guaita, Agathe Mignon, Andrea Pellacani, Laura Perez Lupi, Anne-Chantal Rufer, Wynd van der Woude with Thibault Smith


Lead engineer timber construction:

Rémy Meylan, architect & wood engineer, Whood x Mug


Sponsored by:

Getaz-Miauton SA, Debrunner Acifer SA Romandie, Marti Construction SA, Roth échafaudages SA, E.S.


alice.epfl.ch

HOUSE 1 came into being under the auspices of the Faculty of Architecture at EPFL, as a joint project by over 200 students in their first year. It was initiated and planned by the faculty’s Atelier de la Conception de L’Espace (Spatial Planning Studio), which sees space as being an interface between human and technological processes. Within the architecture course the project served as an experimental format for cooperative design and construction. The house was programmed as a series of mutually contextualising spaces within a defined framework – measuring 11×11×11 metres, and using timber frame construction, based on the balloon frame principle. So the spatial experience that HOUSE 1 offers has nothing in common with what you would expect from a consistently homogeneous form of architecture. Instead it resembles an unfolding process of evolution. Space itself is called in question here, oscillating between different possibilities and showing itself open to different interpretations.


Comments of the nominators

As a successful building experiment, the project is impressive. By contrast with buildings that follow a master plan, HOUSE 1 resulted from the interaction of several teams. After each of the teams had defined an independent and self-sufficient space, the next step was to engage in dialogue, with the aim of developing a connected and mutually interpenetrating structure within the prescribed framework.

Nominee

Research

 
 

HOUSE 1

ALICE Studio EPFL –

École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

Dieter Dietz with 1st year students BA architecture (2016):

Daniel Zamarbide, Raffael Baur, Edouard Cabay, Laurent Chassot, Nicolas Dürr, Margherita Del Grosso, Alexa den Hartog, Stéphane Grandgirard, Patricia Guaita, Agathe Mignon, Andrea Pellacani, Laura Perez Lupi, Anne-Chantal Rufer, Wynd van der Woude with Thibault Smith


Lead engineer timber construction:

Rémy Meylan, architect & wood engineer, Whood x Mug


Sponsored by:

Getaz-Miauton SA, Debrunner Acifer SA Romandie, Marti Construction SA, Roth échafaudages SA, E.S.


alice.epfl.ch

HOUSE 1 est née au sein de l’EPFL, dans le cadre de la formation en architecture, comme travail commun de plus de 200 étudiants de première année. Elle a été lancée et conçue par l’Atelier de la Conception de l’Espace de l’EPFL, qui définit l’espace comme une interface pour les processus humains et technologiques. Dans le contexte de la formation en architecture, le projet sert de format expérimental pour la conception et la construction communes. La maison a été programmée comme une série de pièces se donnant réciproquement un contexte à l’intérieur de normes définies – une taille de 11×11×11 mètres et une construction sur la base d’un cadre en bois, d’après le principe du Balloon Frame. L’expérience spatiale proposée dans HOUSE 1 ne correspond toutefois pas à celle que l’on peut attendre d’une expérience homogène en elle-même, mais ressemble plutôt à une évolution en devenir: l’espace est remis en question, il hésite entre différentes possibilités et est ouvert aux interprétations.


Comments of the nominators

Le projet est une expérience de construction impressionnante. À la différence des constructions effectuées sur la base d’un plan, HOUSE 1 est née de l’interaction entre différentes équipes. Après qu’une d’entre elles avait défini une pièce indépendante autonome, il fallait développer une structure unifiée et pénétrante, dans un processus de dialogue et dans un cadre donné.