Winner

Spatial Design

 
 

Slow Screen

Companies and core team members:


Etter Studio,
Digital Arts Association,
Solution, Greenliff


Christian Etter, Caroline Hirt, Johanna Taubenreuter,
Lucas Uhlmann, Thibault Brevet, Fidel Morf, Quang Thai


www.etterstudio.com
www.muda.co

The MuDA – Museum of Digital Art in Zurich has rooms with extensive windows, admitting a great deal of natural light. In order to create suitable indoor conditions for exhibitions, it proved necessary to control the incoming illumination. A solution involving curtains did not seem in key with the thematic focus of the institution. As an alternative, Slow Screen was developed – a kinetic installation which extends over the entire 100-square-metre window façade of the museum. It consists of 805 physical pixels in the form of revolving aluminium panels, individually controlled and powered by motors in such a way that the angle of tilt can be continuously adjusted. This not only makes it possible to regulate incoming light on the museum’s premises – outside visiting hours, Slow Screen metamorphoses into a display which conjures up slow-moving animations, patterns, pictures and text messages behind the museum façade.


Comments of the nominators

An innovative project which combines practically functional, technological and poetic qualities. Above all in the context of the Museum of Digital Art, Slow Screen is highly effective as communication and so makes a crucial contribution to the identity of this still young non-profit institution.


Comments by the Jury


The kinetic installation Slow Screen impresses first of all with its specially developed, sophisticated technology, and then again in view of its perfect fulfilment of its immediate objective – to control the incoming light in the exhibition rooms of the Museum of Digital Art. But the crucial quality of the installation, in the jury’s opinion, is the associated added value it reveals, aesthetically and in the form of communication, outside the museum’s opening hours. This is when the characteristically slowmoving Screen transforms itself into a display for patterns, images and texts, whose gradual appearance and subsequent dissolution can be contemplated with pleasure.

Winner

Spatial Design

 
 

Slow Screen

Companies and core team members:


Etter Studio,
Digital Arts Association,
Solution, Greenliff


Christian Etter, Caroline Hirt, Johanna Taubenreuter,
Lucas Uhlmann, Thibault Brevet, Fidel Morf, Quang Thai


www.etterstudio.com
www.muda.co

Le MuDA – Museum of Digital Art à Zurich se trouve dans des pièces dans lesquelles la lumière du jour entre à flots grâce à des fenêtres de grande taille. Afin de créer à l’intérieur des conditions d’exposition adéquates, il s’est avéré indispensable de contrôler l’incidence de la lumière. L’utilisation de rideaux pour résoudre le problème ne semblait pas adaptée à l’orientation thématique du bâtiment. Slow Screen a été développé comme alternative – une installation cinétique qui s’étend sur 100 mètres carrés, la totalité des fenêtres de façade du musée. Il est composé de 805 pixels physiques sous forme de panneaux en aluminium pivotants pouvant être commandés individuellement, et dont l’angle d’inclinaison peut être modifié en continu à l’aide de moteurs. Il ne sert pas uniquement à réguler l’incidence de la lumière dans les pièces du musée. En dehors des heures d’ouverture, le Slow Screen devient un écran sur lequel s’affichent des animations, des motifs, des images ou des textes derrière la façade du musée, le tout par des mouvements lents.

Commentaire du nominateurs

Un projet innovateur qui combine des qualités pratiques, fonctionnelles, technologiques et poétiques. En particulier dans le contexte du Museum of Digital Art, le Slow Screen a une grande valeur communicative et peut ainsi contribuer de façon importante à l’identité de la jeune institution à but non lucratif.

Commentaire du jury    

L’installation cinétique Slow Screen séduit d’une part grâce à sa solution technique sophistiquée développée spécialement, et d’autre part grâce au fait qu’elle remplit parfaitement son rôle immédiat: le contrôle de la luminosité des pièces d’exposition du Museum of Digital Art. Toutefois, pour le jury, la qualité décisive de l’installation est sa valeur ajoutée communicative et esthétique, visible en dehors des heures d’ouverture du musée. Précisément lorsque le Screen, dans ses mouvements lents caractéristiques, transforme les fenêtres du musée en écran sur lequel s’affichent des motifs, des images et des textes, dont on regarde avec plaisir l’apparition graduelle puis la disparition.