Nominee

SwissEnergy Lighting Prize

 
 

FEZ

BALTENSWEILER


Inhouse design and development

Lukas Niederberger, Gabriel Baltensweiler

David Schäublin, Cyrill Herger


www.baltensweiler.ch

The FEZ standard lamp combines a fundamentally solid structure, incorporating sophisticated mechanical solutions, with the most up-to-date LED-based lighting technology.


The most conspicuous feature of the emphatically rectilinear and minimalist luminaire is a reflector in the shape of a truncated cone, which carries a faint suggestion of the ancient oriental headwear that gives the lamp its name. Entirely made of aluminium, FEZ consists of three elements: a round base with an integrated cable compartment, an upright component anchored peripherally to the base unit and incorporating a telescopic rod system for vertical adjustment, and a lamp head that can be adjusted through 360 degrees and is provided with slits for the purpose.


The lamp has a strong direct light source, along with the optional addition of indirect illumination. Being equipped with two powerful LEDs, it can provide enough light to illuminate a room. While the main switch (which at the same time functions as a dimmer) is located on the upright, the indirect light is operated by a switch on the reflector.


Comments of the nominators

The design of this extremely versatile lamp designed for domestic use is convincing in its synthesis of simplicity and charm. The detailed structural solutions and lighting technology features are outstanding. In spite of its low power consumption of just 38 watt, the FEZ boasts impressively high energy efficiency as witnessed by the high light output of 3700 lumens. It is ideally suitable as a replacement for indirect-beam halogen luminaires with 300 watt lamps. The lamp meets the stringent Minergy requirements.

Nominee

SwissEnergy Lighting Prize

 
 

FEZ

BATENSWEILER


Inhouse design and development

Lukas Niederberger, Gabriel Baltensweiler

David Schäublin, Cyrill Herger


www.baltensweiler.ch

Le lampadaire FEZ associe une construction solide, caractérisée par des solutions mécaniques mûries, à la technologie d’éclairage la plus récente basée sur les LED.


La principale caractéristique de la lampe au design résolument rectiligne et minimaliste est son réflecteur en forme de cône, qui rappelle de loin l’ancien couvre-chef oriental à qui elle doit son nom. FEZ est fabriquée entièrement en aluminium et est composée de trois éléments: d’un socle rond dans lequel est intégré un logement de câble, d’un tube vertical fixé à la périphérie de ce socle, réglable en hauteur grâce à une tige télescopique, et d’une tête de lampe pivotant à 360º et entaillée à cet effet.


La lampe dispose d’une source de lumière directe et d’une lumière indirecte pouvant être allumée en plus. Elle est équipée de deux LED puissantes et peut fournir assez de lumière pour éclairer une pièce. Tandis que l’interrupteur principal servant également de variateur sesitue sur le tube vertical, la lumière indirecte s’allume grâce à un interrupteur placé sur le réflecteur.


Comments of the nominators

Le design de cette lampe conçue pour les pièces à vivre, utilisable de façons très variées, séduit par son mélange de simplicité et de charme. Les détails de la construction et l’éclairage sont excellents. Avec une puissance faible de seulement 38 watts, Fez surprend par son efficacité énergétique remarquable, qui s’exprime par un rendement lumineux élevé de 3700 lumens. Elle est idéale pour remplacer des lampes halogènes à rayonnement indirect avec des ampoules de 300 watts. La lampe répond aux exigences strictes des luminaires Minergie.