Winner

Swiss Textiles Prize for Young Fashion and Textile Entrepreneurs

 
 

YVY

Founded in Zurich in 2013, the fashion brand YVY stands for seasonally independent, exquisite leather goods, in the development of which the classic boundaries between accessories and clothing are often deliberately called in question. The spectrum extends from corsetry creations to articles of clothing, leather belts and bags. YVY’s collections combine traditional craft work, sensuousness, sex appeal and formal innovation. The exceptionally positive feedback which the label has received from international celebrities and influential stylists, in magazines and in the social media, demonstrates the appeal of this kind of approach. All products are made from topquality materials – above all from the best Italian leather, which has been tanned with plant-based substances – and are produced by hand in Zurich. The control of production this ensures guarantees high quality standards, and makes it possible to meet the special wishes of a female clientele. YVY collections are marketed through the company’s own webshop and by way of select boutiques.


Comments of the nominators

Smart and well connected, Yvonne Reichmuth succeeded over just a few years in acquiring international standing for her brand YVY in a niche of the fashion market. Her popularity with the stylists of celebrities, and the attention her collections have attracted in leading international fashion magazines, are their own best argument. Her strategy of consistently relying on the best craftsmanship combined with superlative raw materials is finding a public. As products are made at her own workshop in Zurich, she can easily respond to the individual requirements of her customers.


Comments of the jury

The Zurich fashion label YVY has carried off a tour de force. In just a few years and in absolutely exemplary style, the designer and entrepreneur Yvonne Reichmuth succeeded in creating a niche for herself and her brand on the highly competitive international fashion market, and populating it with attractive products. The winning formula here has been based on harmonious design, optimum product quality, professional marketing, astute product placement, a sufficiency of social media skills and contemporary distribution structures. YVY’s success story, which if nothing else represents an encouragement to the younger generation of designers, deserves admiration and recognition. The jury has chosen to honour this achievement by awarding YVY the Swiss Textiles Prize for Young Fashion and Textile Entrepreneurs.

Winner

Swiss Textiles Prize for Young Fashion and Textile Entrepreneurs

 
 

YVY

2013 in Zürich gegründet, steht die ModeMarke YVY für saisonunabhängig konzipierte, exquisite Lederwaren, bei deren Entwurf die klassische Grenze zwischen Accessoire und Bekleidung oft bewusst infrage gestellt wird. Die Bandbreite reicht von korsageartigen Kreationen über Kleider bis hin zu Ledergurten und Taschen. In den Kollektionen von YVY verbinden sich traditionelle Handwerkskunst, Sinnlichkeit, Sexappeal und formale Innovation. Die ausserordentlich positive Resonanz, die das Label bei internationalen Celebrities, bei einflussreichen Stylistinnen, in Magazinen und in den sozialen Medien gefunden hat, beweist die Tragfähigkeit dieses Konzepts. Sämtliche Produkte werden aus hochwertigen Materialien, vor allem aus feinstem, pflanzlich gegerbtem italienischem Leder und in Handarbeit in Zürich hergestellt. Die dadurch erreichte Kontrolle über die Produktion garantiert hohe Qualitätsstandards und ermöglicht es, auf spezielle Wünsche der Kundinnen einzugehen. Der Vertrieb der YVY-Kollektionen läuft über den eigenen Webshop und über ausgewählte Boutiquen.

Kommentar der Nominatoren

Smart und gut vernetzt, ist es Yvonne Reichmuth innerhalb weniger Jahre gelungen, ihre Marke YVY in einer Nische des Modegeschäftes international zu positionieren. Ihre Erfolge bei Stylistinnen von Celebrities und die Aufmerksamkeit, die sie mit ihren Kollektionen bei führenden internationalen Modemagazinen erregen konnte, sprechen für sich. Ihr Konzept, konsequent auf Handwerklichkeit und beste Ausgangsmaterialien zu setzen, kommt an. Dank der Produktion im eigenen Atelier in Zürich kann auf individuelle Wünsche der Kundinnen reagiert werden.


Comments by the Jury

Dem Zürcher Mode-Label YVY ist ein Kunststück geglückt. Innerhalb weniger Jahreund in geradezu vorbildlicher Weise gelang es der Designerin und UnternehmerinYvonne Reichmuth sich und ihrer jungen Marke im hoch kompetitiven internationalenModemarkt eine Nische zu schaffen und diese mit attraktiven Produkten zu besetzen. Das Rezept dafür: stimmiges Design, beste Produktqualität, professionelles Marketing, geschicktes Productplacement, adäquateSocial Media-Kompetenz und zeitgemässe Vertriebsstrukturen. Die Erfolgsgeschichtevon YVY, die nicht zuletzt eine Ermutigung für Nachwuchs-Designerinnen und Designer darstellt, verdient Beachtung und Anerkennung. Die Jury würdigt diese Leistung mit dem Swiss Textiles Prize for Young Fashion and Textile Entrepreneurs.