facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Communication Design

 
 

Edition Unik

Heller Enterprises:

Frerk Froböse, Janine Meyer, Atalja Reichlin, Martin Heller, Maria Tschudi

www.edition-unik.ch


Partners:

Raffinerie AG für Gestaltung, Zürich; Bubu AG, Mönchaltorf; Feinheit AG, Zürich; SCC Kommunikation AG, Zürich; Mariana Pote & Fabrice Spahn (ZHdK Interaction Design)

Edition Unik is a cultural project initiated by Heller Enterprises, Zurich and implemented with several partners. It is geared towards people in the second half of their lives, who would like to write down their personal history and make a book out of these recollections. Edition Unik offers various means of support for this and brings two components together that are normally separated from each other into a joint experience: a writing course setting and a self-publishing platform. This enables the participants to write their life stories in a unique way and design a book from their memories – an individually moving experience. An individual writing programme and a strict timetable support the participants from the first sentence to the finished product. People write their texts in Edition Unik without specifications regarding content. The books created on this basis are considered to be for personal requirements and not for sale on the book market. The enjoyment of the high-quality book that has been drafted with an automated layout is in the foreground.


Comments of the nominators

This wide-ranging and exciting non-profit project impresses with its sophisticated, well thought-out basic concept, social relevance, practice-related approach, strong social components and appropriate design implementation.



Comments of the jury


The need to bring one’s own life story into book form is obviously something important to a lot of older people – also those, who tend to stay away from established cultural life. This is the target group of Edition Unik with a carefully developed, facet-rich service, which boils down to an encouragement to write. The framework created here for the production of a book offers a practical aid. It’s not solely the final product that takes centre stage – a cleanly designed, high quality book. The focus of Edition Unik, which also impresses with its comparably low costs, is far more geared to the actual process of book production and the experience associated with this. An all-round successful project, which gains its strength from combining social and design concerns.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Communication Design

 
 

Edition Unik

Heller Enterprises:

Frerk Froböse, Janine Meyer, Atalja Reichlin, Martin Heller, Maria Tschudi

www.edition-unik.ch


Partners:

Raffinerie AG für Gestaltung, Zürich; Bubu AG, Mönchaltorf; Feinheit AG, Zürich; SCC Kommunikation AG, Zürich; Mariana Pote & Fabrice Spahn (ZHdK Interaction Design)

L’Edition Unik est un projet culturel initié par Heller Enterprises, Zurich et mis en œuvre avec plusieurs partenaires. Il s’adresse à des gens dans la deuxième moitié de la vie, qui souhaitent noter leur histoire personnelle et en faire un livre. L’Edition Unik propose à cet effet diverses offres de soutien et réunit deux éléments normalement séparés en une expérience globale: une configuration de cours d’écriture et une plate-forme d’autopublication. Cela habilite les participants de manière unique à écrire l’histoire de leur vie et à en faire un livre – une expérience personnelle touchante. Un propre programme d’écriture et un calendrier serré accompagnent les participants de la première phrase au produit fini. Dans l’Edition Unik, les gens écrivent leurs textes sans directives quant au contenu. Les livres rédigés sur cette base sont conçus pour un usage personnel et non pour la vente sur le marché de la librairie. Au premier plan figure la joie du livre rédigé par soi-même, mis en page automatiquement et joliment présenté.


Comments of the nominators

Ce projet à but non lucratif varié et passionnant convainc par sa conception de base sophistiquée et bien réfléchie, sa pertinence sociale, son approche pratique, son solide élément social et sa mise en œuvre créatrice adéquate.


Comments of the jury


Le besoin de mettre sa propre histoire dans un livre anime manifestement de nombreuses personnes d’un certain âge, y compris celles qui se tiennent plutôt éloignées du secteur culturel établi. C’est à ce groupe que s’adresse l’Edition Unik avec une offre soigneusement élaborée, diversifiée, qui aboutit sur un encouragement à écrire. Le cadre créé ici pour la production de livres offre une aide pratique. Ce n’est pas uniquement le produit final qui figure au premier plan – un livre correctement créé et fabriqué dans une bonne qualité. La focalisation de l’Edition Unik, qui impressionne aussi par des coûts comparativement faibles, est dirigée plutôt sur le processus proprement dit de la création d’un livre et de l’expérience qui y est liée. Un projet tout à fait réussi, qui tire sa force de l’association de préoccupations sociales et créatrices.