facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Design Leadership Prize:
Focus Ageing Society

 
 

Begegnungszentrum Chileweg Rain


Team Design:

Cometti Truffer Architects SA with Angelika Walthert Lucerne and Landscape architect Fahrni Lucerne, Norbert Truffer, Manuela Obermair, Angelika Walthert, Christoph Fahrni


Team Client:

Community of Rain: Oskar Berli, Markus Wyss, Judith Galliker, Helen Aregger, Harry Emmenegger,
Walter Sidler


Team User:

Cooperative care residential group of Rain:
Lisbeth Schürmann-Schaller, Anita Mainetti

 
Team Contractor:

Alfred Müller General Contractor Zug: Beat Stocker, Patrick Steinmann, Ueli Buchmann

The trigger for planning the Chileweg centre in Rain Canton of Lucerne was the need to create somewhere offering support and care to the elderly. Previously the residents of the village had been forced to leave not only their homes but also the village when they required care. A residential centre and meeting place was therefore to be established in a central location next to the village church. Three new buildings with high specifications were built here in line with plans by Cometti Truffer Architects with a total of 17 barrier-free and wheelchair-accessible rental apartments. At the same time a public space was created on part of the plot. The core of the complex is formed by the “House of Encounter” located directly next to this space in which a cooperative is additionally building care apartments for 18 people. In addition to long-term care places short-term and day-care spaces are also offered here. An atrium in the centre of the building which serves almost as a semi-public living space at the care establishment also belongs to the inclusive basic concept of the Chileweg centre together with a café-bistro bakery branch and village shop which will bring life to the new building complex and integrate it into the everyday life of the village. The square has quickly established itself as the new village centre.


Comments of the nominators

The Chileweg centre project addresses two of the municipalities problems simultaneously: a social one – the lack of care services for the inhabitants of the village – and a town planning one – the lack of a public village square. The new building complex which was consciously designed for cross-generational living successfully solves both problems convincingly.


Comments of the jury

The new Chileweg centre in Rain is impressive and pleases on several levels. First of all the municipality’s courage should be applauded, which involved considerable advance funding in order to achieve a project that serves the wellbeing of the community. The choice of plot is also fortunate: Instead of placing a care home discreetly on the outskirts of the village, as is so often the case, it has been brought into the middle of the village and this sets an example: We do not want to push away our citizens that require care, but rather integrate them into the everyday life of the village. The high design quality of the Chileweg centre from a town planning, architectural and interior design perspective as well as the affordable price structure support the basic concept of the project with its focus on inclusion as far as possible. The new space solves a town planning problem that afflicts many suburban municipalities: there is a lack of a meeting place to a sufficiently high standard where people would like to spend time. In Rain there is now such a place, which was created with basic resources: a few trees, benches and a fountain. This is how simple it can be.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Design Leadership Prize:
Focus Ageing Society

 
 

Begegnungszentrum Chileweg Rain


Team Design:

Cometti Truffer Architects SA with Angelika Walthert Lucerne and Landscape architect Fahrni Lucerne, Norbert Truffer, Manuela Obermair, Angelika Walthert, Christoph Fahrni


Team Client:

Community of Rain: Oskar Berli, Markus Wyss, Judith Galliker, Helen Aregger, Harry Emmenegger,
Walter Sidler


Team User:

Cooperative care residential group of Rain:
Lisbeth Schürmann-Schaller, Anita Mainetti

 
Team Contractor:

Alfred Müller General Contractor Zug: Beat Stocker, Patrick Steinmann, Ueli Buchmann

Le déclencheur pour la planification du Centre Chileweg à Rain dans le canton de Lucerne était le besoin de créer une offre d’encadrement et de soins pour les personnes âgées. Jusqu’ici les habitantes et habitants du village étaient forcés lorsqu’ils nécessitaient des soins de quitter non seulement leur logement mais aussi l’endroit. Dans une situation centrale à côté de l’église du village un centre d’habitation et de rencontres avec les offres correspondantes devait donc être créé. D’après des plans par Cometti Truffer Architectes trois nouvelles constructions de conception exigeante avec en tout 17 appartements locatifs sans barrières et accessibles en fauteuil roulant ont été érigées ici. Sur une partie du terrain à bâtir une place publique a en même temps été créée. Le cœur du complexe est formé par la «Maison des rencontres» situé directement sur cette place où une coopérative de soutien a réalisé en plus des appartements de soins pour 18 personnes. En plus de places de soins longue durée des places de soins courte durée et journaliers sont également proposées ici. Un atrium au centre de la maison qui sert de salle de séjour semi-publique de l’institution de soins fait partie du concept de base inclusif tout comme le café-bistro la boulangerie et le magasin du village qui animent le nouveau complexe et l’in-tègrent dans le quotidien du village. La place s’est déjà établie comme nouveau centre du village.


Comments of the nominators

Le projet Centre Chileweg aborde deux problèmes de la commune: un problème social – l’absence d’une offre de soins pour les villageois – et un problème urbain – l’inexistence d’une place du village publique. Le nouveau complexe qui a été volontairement conçu pour une habitation intergénérationnelle parvient avec quelques décisions intelligentes à résoudre les deux problèmes.


Comments of the jury

Le nouveau Centre Chileweg à Rain convainc, impressionne et réjouit à plusieurs niveaux. Tout d’abord il faut faire l’éloge du courage de la commune qui a avancé un financement considérable, pour réaliser un projet social servant au bien-être public. Le choix du terrain est également heureux: au lieu de placer comme cela arrive si souvent une institution de soins discrètement en périphérie de la localité, on la place au milieu du village et on place ainsi un signal: nous ne voulons pas écarter nos citoyennes et citoyens nécessitant des soins, mais les intégrer dans la vie du village. La grande qualité structurelle du Centre Chileweg au niveau urbanistique, architectonique et de l’architecture d’intérieur ainsi que les prix abordables font tout ce qui est possible pour soutenir l’idée de la conception de base du projet, engagée pour l’inclusion. La nouvelle place résoud un problème urbanistique dont souffrent beaucoup de communes de banlieue: il manque un point de rencontre avec qualité de séjour. À Rain il existe maintenant un tel endroit, qui a été créé par des moyens simples: quelques arbres, des bancs et une fontaine. C’est aussi simple que cela.