facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Energy Efficiency Prize

 
 

Piëch Mark Zero

Design:

Toni Piëch, Rea Stark Rajcic, Laszlo Varga


Engineering:

Klaus Schmidt, Nicolas Allain


www.piech.com

The Piëch Mark Zero developed by the Piëch Automotiv Group, a Swiss-German company, makes the claim of transporting “the fun of driving a puristic sports car into the electric age”. The technological innovations, which are associated with the latter, are even more exciting than the external appearance of the car that caused a sensation and is expected to go into series production in 2022. Revolutionary new battery cells, which can be charged to 80% in only five minutes, take centre stage as they are subject to only minor thermal changes despite extremely high charging and discharge currents. The resulting more efficient energy recovery when braking enables smaller battery packages to be used, which in turn reduces the weight of the cars and their energy requirements. The modular vehicle architecture with an aluminium frame structure is also ground-breaking. It’s designed as an open, flexible platform, which can chiefly be used for various drive technologies and forms of bodywork.


Comments of the nominators

The current status of the Piëch Mark Zero represents a genuine cutting-edge innovation, which is likely to have a long-term influence on the future of electric mobility. There is the prospect that the technology, which was developed for this sports car, will soon also be available for other vehicle categories.



Comments of the jury

The Piëch Mark Zero, which is in an advanced stage of development and will go into series production in a few years, is without doubt an extraordinarily beautiful car that already stands out from the normal expectations of an electric vehicle becuase of its construction. However, what looks like a luxury toy for the happy few at first glance, on closer inspection turns out to be a potential milestone in the development of electric mobility and car construction, which deserves great consideration and recognition. On the one hand, this is the result of revolutionary new battery technology, which stands out becuase of its extremely short charging times – as confirmed by independent institutions –, making it way ahead of the current established solutions. On the other hand, it is because of the innovative modular vehicle architecture, which can be transferred to other vehicle categories and permits a rational manufacturing method. This leads to the hope that through the new technical developments prompted by the Piëch Mark Zero, there will already be a widespread effect in the foreseeable future.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Energy Efficiency Prize

 
 

Piëch Mark Zero

Design:

Toni Piëch, Rea Stark Rajcic, Laszlo Varga


Engineering:

Klaus Schmidt, Nicolas Allain


www.piech.com

La Piëch Mark Zero, développée par Piëch Automotiv Group, une entreprise germano-suisse, soulève l’exigence de transporter «le plaisir de conduire d’une voiture de sport puriste à l’ère électrique». Encore plus passionnantes que l’aspect extérieur accrocheur de la voiture, qui doit être produite en série à partir de 2022, sont les innovations technologiques qu’elle implique. De nouvelles cellules de batterie révolutionnaires figurent au premier plan, qui se chargent à 80% en 5 minutes seulement et qui malgré d’énormes courants de charge et de décharge ne sont soumises qu’à des variations thermiques minimes. La récupération d’énergie plus efficace que cela permet lors du freinage permet d’utiliser des packs de batteries plus petits, ce qui réduit à son tour le poids de la voiture et diminue son besoin d’énergie. En outre, l’architecture modulaire du véhicule est innovante, avec une structure de châssis en aluminium. Elle est conçue comme une plate-forme ouverte et flexible, pouvant être utilisée en principe pour toutes sortes de technologies d’entraînement et de formes de carrosserie.


Comments of the nominators

Piëch Mark Zero est, à l’état actuel, une véritable innovation qui pourrait influencer durablement l’avenir de la mobilité électrique. Il existe la perspective que la technologie développée pour cette voiture de sport soit bientôt disponible également pour d’autres catégories de véhicules.



Comments of the jury


La Piëch Mark Zero, qui en est au stade de développement avancé et qui sera produite en série dans quelques années, est sans aucun doute une voiture exceptionnellement belle, qui se distingue d’ores et déjà par sa présentation des attentes habituelles envers un véhicule électrique. Ce qui paraît toutefois à première vue être un jouet de luxe pour les happy few se transforme à y regarder de plus près en un jalon potentiel dans le développement de la mobilité électrique et de la construction automobile qui mérite une attention et une estime maximales. Ceci est attribuable d’une part à une nouvelle technologie de batterie révolutionnaire qui – et c’est confirmé par des institutions indépendantes – se caractérise par des temps de charge extrêmement courts, avec laquelle elle est actuellement très en avance sur les solutions actuellement courantes. D’autre part, c’est dû à une architecture de véhicule modulaire innovante, qui peut se transposer sur d’autres catégories de véhicules et permet un mode de fabrication rationnel. Cela justifie l’espoir que les nouveaux développements techniques suggérés par la Piëch Mark Zero déploient un effet de masse dans un avenir proche.