facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Furniture Design

 
 

Limbic Chair

Concept & Design Method, Design of Shells, Functional Design of Mechanics:

Dr. med. Patrik Künzler


Design of Electronics, Sensors, VR-Applications:

Mark van Raai


Surface design metal parts of Limbic Chair:

Ben Fluri

(Independent student project)


www.limbic-life.com

The starting point for the development of the Limbic Chair, which was driven centrally by research by the physician Dr. Patrik Künzler, was not, as is so often the case, ergonomic considerations, but desirable mental or physical conditions – such as weightlessness, concentration, enjoyment, relaxation etc. The interplay between posture and exercise on the one hand and our mental and emotional health on the other hand was investigated. Derived from this, it was a matter of how a sitting instrument would have to be created for it to generate positive impulses for our mental or emotional well-being. Basic technology for furniture emanated from many experiments and technical studies, which were intended to enable healthy, enjoyable and even useful sitting. The Limbic Chair is the initial implementation on the basis of this technology. Its name hints at the “Limbic system”. The medical term describes a functional unit in the brain, which includes several anatomical structures and plays a central role in processing emotional and intellectual impulses.


Comments of the nominators


Noteworthy basic research on the subject of sitting, moving and emotion, for which the physiological and neurological functionality of the human body took centre stage. The findings gained from this led to a completely new approach to the design of seating.


Comments of the jury

It’s not a completely new revelation that physicians are involved in the development of seating. So far they have primarily been orthopaedics, who investigated where the human body should be supported or held or relieved when sitting, and where it needs movement. The Limbic Chair project is fascinating because of its completely new approach: for the first time neuronal and – the associated – emotional aspects of sitting are included in the investigation. The results are just as astounding as promising. The versions fitted with electronic sensors open up completely new areas of application such as in the field of the gaming industry where functional seating could be used as a device to control software. The Limbic Chair project appears exciting as an approach to research and the design thinking process. The findings acquired here could form the basis for new types of design solutions.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Furniture Design

 
 

Limbic Chair

Concept & Design Method, Design of Shells, Functional Design of Mechanics:

Dr. med. Patrik Künzler


Design of Electronics, Sensors, VR-Applications:

Mark van Raai


Surface design metal parts of Limbic Chair:

Ben Fluri

(Independent student project)


www.limbic-life.com

Le point de départ dans le développement de la Limbic Chair, qui a été avancé de manière centralisée par des recherches de Patrik Künzler, dr méd., n’étaient pas, comme souvent déjà, des considérations ergonomiques, mais des états mentaux ou physiques souhaitables – par exemple l’apesanteur, la concentration, la joie, la détente, etc. L’interaction entre la posture et le mouvement d’une part et notre état mental et émotionnel d’autre part a été examinée. Il en est dérivé la question de savoir comment un siège devait être créé qui dégage des impulsions positives pour notre bien-être mental ou émotionnel. De nombreuses expériences et études techniques il est résulté une technologie de base pour des meubles qui permettent une position assise saine, agréable et même utile. La Limbic Chair est une première réalisation sur la base de cette technique. Son nom évoque le «système limbique». Le terme désigne en médecine une unité fonctionnelle du cerveau qui englobe plusieurs structures anatomiques et joue un rôle central dans le traitement des impulsions émotionnelles et intellectuelles.


Comments of the nominators


Une recherche fondamentale remarquable sur le thème de la position assise, du mouvement et de l’émotion, dans laquelle les fonctionnements physiologiques et neurologiques du corps humain figuraient au premier plan. Il résulte des découvertes acquises dans ce processus une approche entièrement inédite pour la création de sièges.


Comments of the jury

Ce n’est pas tout à fait nouveau que des médecins soient impliqués dans le développement de sièges. Jusqu’ici c’étaient en premier lieu des orthopédistes, qui examinaient où le corps humain s’appuie ou se tient ou est déchargé en position assise, et où il lui faut de la mobilité. Le projet Limbic Chair fascine par une approche tout à fait inédite: pour la première fois des aspects neuronaux de la position assise et des aspects émotionnels qui y sont liés ont été impliqués dans l’étude. Les résultats sont aussi étonnants que prometteurs. Du fait de la variante équipée de capteurs électroniques, de tout nouveaux segments d’application s’ouvrent, par exemple dans le domaine de l’industrie du gaming, où des sièges fonctionnels pourraient être utilisés comme dispositif pour la commande de logiciels. Le projet Limbic Chair paraît passionnant comme approche de recherche et processus de design thinking. Les découvertes faites ici pourraient constituer la base de solutions de design inédites.