facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Product –
Investment Goods

 
 

Lecureux Handsetter
HSM1708

Handsetter is a precision machine developed and manufactured in Switzerland, which is used in watch production. It places hour, minute and second hands as well as the hands of stop watches on the clock unit. A built-in camera enables the position and horizontal orientation of the individual hands to be checked to ensure correct assembly of the watch. The Handsetter is placed on the watchmaker’s table and is geared to the requirements of someone who works while sitting with regard to its ergonomic design. A carefully cut worktop made of solid beechwood gives a pleasant feel to the surface and offers the wrists a comfortable and secure place to rest. An asymmetrically arranged touch screen for the control functions makes it easier to read the information. Together with the rounded edges of the housing, it gives the machine both a characteristic and contemporary appearance at the same time.


Comments of the nominators

The design of this precision machine is already solved well and almost in textbook fashion. The design appears simple, practical, to the point, functional and contemporary. The selection of material appears appropriate and solid. The ergonomic requirements are satisfied convincingly. The high quality impression of the machine should be particularity appreciated by potential customers in view of the increasing number of visitors to watch makers.


Comments of the jury


The fact that a designer is involved in developing a special machine for watch making tends to be the exception rather than the rule. However, the extra investment has been worthwhile for the producers of this machine: the Handsetter makes an overall successful impression. Its design always appears oriented towards solutions and gives an impression of begin entirely self-evident. In addition, it gives the device something like identity and personality. Lastly, the ergonomic solution, which manifests itself in the carefully modelled wooden worktop, should be emphasised.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Product –
Investment Goods

 
 

Lecureux Handsetter
HSM1708

Handsetter est une machine de précision développée et produite en Suisse, qui est utilisée dans l’horlogerie. Elle place sur le mouvement les aiguilles des heures, des minutes et des secondes ainsi que celle des chronomètres. Une caméra intégrée permet de vérifier la position et l’orientation horizontale des différentes aiguilles afin de garantir un montage conforme de la montre. La Handsetter se pose sur la table de l’horloger et est adaptée dans sa forme ergonomique aux besoins d’une personne travaillant en position assise. Une surface de travail fabriquée en bois de hêtre massif et soigneusement taillée assure une haptique agréable et offre aux poignets une pose confortable et sûre. Un écran tactile à disposition asymétrique pour les fonctions de contrôle facilite la lisibilité des informations. Associé aux bords arrondis du boîtier, il confère à la machine en même temps un aspect aussi caractéristique que contemporain.


Comments of the nominators

La présentation de cette machine de précision est presque une «définition de manuel». Le design est simple, pratique, il dégage l’essentiel, il est fonctionnel et moderne. Le choix des matières paraît judicieux et raffiné. Les besoins ergonomiques sont remplis de façon satisfaisante. L’aspect de grande valeur de la machine devrait être particulièrement apprécié par les clients potentiels au vu du nombre croissant des visiteurs de manufactures horlogères.


Comments of the jury


Le fait qu’un designer soit impliqué dans le développement d’une machine spéciale pour l’horlogerie est probablement à ce jour plutôt l’exception que la règle. Mais pour le producteur de cette machine, l’investissement supplémentaire a été payant: la Handsetter laisse une impression entièrement réussie. Sa structure paraît toujours orientée solution et transmet ainsi une impression tout à fait évidente. En outre, elle confère à l’appareil quelque chose comme une identité et une personnalité. Il faut souligner la solution ergonomique qui se manifeste dans la surface de travail en bois soigneusement modelée.