facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Research

 
 

The Sausage of the Future

Team Design:

Carolien Niebling (concept & design),
Helge Hjorth Bentsen (illustrations, graphic design & info graphics), Olli Hirvonen, Carolien Niebling (illustrations), Jonas Marguet (photography),
Emile Barret (photo collages & cover image), Noortje Knulst, Emile Barret (making-of photography), Master butcher Herman ter Weele and molecular chef Gabriel Serero (sausages)


Supported/edited by ECAL


www.carolienniebling.net

www.ecal.ch


Team Client:

(the project is self-initiated but published after): Lars Müller Publishers, printed at ECAL by Benjamin Plantier


www.lars-mueller-publishers.com

www.thefuturesausage.com

The book Sausage of the Future came about on the basis of an interdisciplinary research project at ECAL. The aim of this project initiated by the designer Carolin Niebling was the development of new, meat-reduced or meatless sausage recipes, which could be implemented with the methods and techniques of traditional sausage production. The intention was to explicitly make a contribution to the development of a sustainable, environmentally compatible and healthy form of food and to contemporary culinary culture. The book, which is richly illustrated with illustrations, info-graphics and photographs, is presented as a brief and appetite-inducing trip into the world of sausages, their cultural history, their components and their production. However, the publication focusses on the new types of sausage created as part of the research project, which the designer developed in collaboration with a molecular chef and a master butcher up to the point of readiness for marketing.


Comments of the nominators

A refreshing and yet simultaneously well-founded topic selection for a research project in the field of design. The author was able to involve competent partners to carry out the interdisciplinary project so that there are no doubts about the fact that the proposed alternative sausage recipes can be implemented. An impressive example of food design.


Comments of the jury


As unconventional and perhaps initially even a bit remote from the subject this project might appear, the author is very successful in making the relevance of her research and her approach to solutions plausible. Sausage of the Future addresses a problem that exists in real life – the excessive consumption of meat and its consequences for the environment, which is likely to increase even further in the foreseeable future. The proposed alternative recipes were developed extremely professionally and also impress at a culinary level. The presentation of the project in the form of a book is clever, original and visually appealing. The publication contributes to making the research accessible to a wider audience and tasty in the true sense of the word. The project as a whole demonstrates the potential fruitfulness and significance of design
research approaches.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Research

 
 

The Sausage of the Future

Team Design:

Carolien Niebling (concept & design),
Helge Hjorth Bentsen (illustrations, graphic design & info graphics), Olli Hirvonen, Carolien Niebling (illustrations), Jonas Marguet (photography),
Emile Barret (photo collages & cover image), Noortje Knulst, Emile Barret (making-of photography), Master butcher Herman ter Weele and molecular chef Gabriel Serero (sausages)


Supported/edited by ECAL


www.carolienniebling.net

www.ecal.ch


Team Client:

(the project is self-initiated but published after): Lars Müller Publishers, printed at ECAL by Benjamin Plantier


www.lars-mueller-publishers.com

www.thefuturesausage.com

Le livre Sausage of the Future est né sur la base d’un travail de recherche interdisciplinaire à l’ECAL. Le but de ce projet initié par la créatrice Carolin Niebling était de développer de nouvelles recettes de saucisses à teneur réduite en viande ou sans viande, qui puissent être appliquées avec les méthodes et les techniques de la production traditionnelle de charcuterie. Explicitement, cela devrait fournir une contribution à une alimentation durable, respectueuse de l’environnement et saine ainsi qu’à une culture alimentaire moderne. L’ouvrage, richement illustré d’images, d’infographies et de photos, se présente comme un voyage varié et appétissant dans le monde de la charcuterie, son histoire culturelle, ses éléments et sa fabrication. Mais au centre de la publication se trouvent les nouvelles variétés de saucisses créées dans le cadre du projet de recherche, que la créatrice a élaborées en collaboration avec un cuisinier moléculaire et un maître boucher jusqu’à leur viabilité commerciale.


Comments of the nominators

Un choix thématique rafraîchissant et en même temps bien fondé pour un travail de recherche dans le domaine du design. Pour la réalisation du projet interdisciplinaire, l’auteur a pu recruter des partenaires compétents, de sorte qu’il n’existe aucun doute quant à la réalisabilité des recettes de saucisses alternatives proposées. Un exemple convaincant de Food Design.


Comments of the jury


Aussi peu conventionnel et de prime abord peut-être même un peu singulier le thème de ce projet puisse paraître, aussi bien l’auteure réussit à rendre plausible la pertinence de sa recherche et de son approche de solution. Sausage of the Future traite d’un problème qui existe réellement – la consommation excessive de viande et ses conséquences pour l’environnement – qui va probablement s’aggraver encore dans un proche avenir. Les recettes alternatives proposées ont été conçues de manière très professionnelle et convainquent au niveau culinaire. La présentation du projet sous forme de livre est intelligente, originale et visuellement sympathique. La publication contribue à rendre la recherche accessible au grand public et à la rendre appétissante au sens propre du terme. Le projet dans son ensemble prouve la fécondité et l’importance potentielles des approches de Design Research.