facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Spatial Design

 
 

#LOOSLAB

Team Design:

HEAD-Genève sous la direction de Youri Kravtchenko, Jean Pierre Greff (directeur), Sandra Mudronja (responsable communication),
Javier Fernandez Contreras (responsable filière architecture d’intérieur), Valentin Dubois, Bertrand Van Dorp, Florine Wescher (assistants), Xavier Plantevin, Alexandre Simian, Sergio Streun (responsables techniques), Estelle Béroujon, Camille Berra, Lolita Gomez, Jérome Nager, Joëlle Progin, Alice Proux, Pascaline Vuilloud, Marie Widmer (étudiants), Lucien Muchutti, Fanny Teka

(intervenants)


Team Client/Host:

Designers’ Saturday Langenthal


@looslab


www.hesge.ch

The size of the so-called Loosbar, which the Austrian architect Adolf Loos created in 1908 in Vienna’s Kärntnerstrasse, is inversely proportional to the worldwide fame of this interior design icon. The room measures precisely 4.40×6.00×4.10 m and Loos naturally knew how to give it completely different dimensions with the help of mirrors. The degree project #LOOSLAB, which was designed at HEAD in Geneva, investigates the significance of pictures in the genesis of contemporary interior design and relationship between picture, room and reality, using this example of the legendary bar. From the original idea of a physical imitation of the Loosbar, a room developed in a process of fragmentation, reduction and new composition, achieving its attraction through a pleasurable game of appearance and reality. The Loos installation built by students wants neither to be a copy nor a simulation of the original, but still claims a larger reality than the original known to most people only through pictures. For the students the project combined historical research and theoretical reflection with very specific design issues when implementing the installation.


Comments of the nominators

A wonderful, facet-rich training project, which gave students a wide range of theoretical and practical insights in an almost playful manner. The temporary installation, which could be experienced on several occasions when a bar was run, also offered visitors many noteworthy and inspiring insights – quite apart from the entertaining aspect.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Spatial Design

 
 

#LOOSLAB

Team Design:

HEAD-Genève sous la direction de Youri Kravtchenko, Jean Pierre Greff (directeur), Sandra Mudronja (responsable communication),
Javier Fernandez Contreras (responsable filière architecture d’intérieur), Valentin Dubois, Bertrand Van Dorp, Florine Wescher (assistants), Xavier Plantevin, Alexandre Simian, Sergio Streun (responsables techniques), Estelle Béroujon, Camille Berra, Lolita Gomez, Jérome Nager, Joëlle Progin, Alice Proux, Pascaline Vuilloud, Marie Widmer (étudiants), Lucien Muchutti, Fanny Teka

(intervenants)


Team Client/Host:

Designers’ Saturday Langenthal


@looslab


www.hesge.ch

La taille de ce qu’on appelle le Loosbar, réalisé par Adolf Loos, architecte autrichien, en 1908 à la Kärntnerstrasse à Vienne, est en proportion inverse de la renommée mondiale de cette icône architectonique. Le local mesure tout juste 4,40×6,00×4,10 m; Adolf Loos a assurément su lui conférer de toutes autres dimensions à l’aide de miroirs. Le projet d’étude #LOOSLAB, qui a été conçu à la HEAD à Genève, étudie à l’exemple du bar légendaire la signification des images dans la genèse d’architectures d’intérieur contemporaines et le rapport entre l’image, l’espace et la réalité. Une imitation physique imaginée à l’origine du Loosbar s’est transformée, dans un processus de fragmentation, réduction et recomposition, en espace qui tire son charme d’un agréable jeu d’être et de paraître. L’installation Loos construite par les étudiants ne veut être ni une copie ni une simulation de l’original, mais sollicite malgré tout une réalité plus grande que l’original, connu de la plupart des gens uniquement grâce à des images. Pour les étudiants, le projet associait recherche historique et réflexion théorique avec des questions constructives tout à fait concrètes lors de la réalisation de l’installation.


Comments of the nominators

Un projet de formation magnifique et varié, qui a transmis aux étudiants de manière presque ludique un grand nombre d’aperçus théoriques et pratiques. Également pour les visiteurs, l’installation temporaire, qui a pu être vécue à plusieurs occasions avec une exploitation de bar, proposait de nombreux aperçus remarquables et stimulants – sans parler de son aspect divertissant.