facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Swiss Textiles Prize for
Fashion and Textile Start-Ups

 
 

SwissFlax GmbH –
Renaissance des Schweizer Flachs

Team/Board:

Marcel Meister, Hans Haslebacher, Hans Ramseier,
Adrian Brügger, Fritz Studer, Peter Steffen, Dominik Füglistaller


www.swissflax.ch


Partners:

Traxler AG: Label erfolg, Lanz-Anliker AG: Label Königliches, Möbel Pfister: Vorhänge, Rigotex AG: Küchentücher,Jenny Fabrics AG: Weben des Zwilchs, Bächi-Cord: Bindfaden, Zürcher Stalder AG: Retail, Mühle Landshut: Leinsamen,
Van de Bilt Zaden en Vlas: Brechen und Kammzug,
Linificio e Canapificio Nazionale: Spinnerei,
Tessanda Handweberei, Sattlerei Blaser GmbH,
Textil AG Huttwil: Strickerei, Paul Eggimann: Sattlerei, Mühle Kleeb AG: Backtücher, Schwob AG: Leinenweberei, IG Niutex, Naturfaserförderung Schweiz

Hardly any other economic sector is as sharply characterised by globalisation as the textile industry – the negative ecological and social consequences of this development are well-known. SwissFlax is dedicated to the idea of sustainability and is based on the concept of once again building up local value creation chains for textile production. Agricultural variety, work close to nature and earnings opportunities for the region are good reasons for this, together with short transport routes, controlled cultivation and Swiss quality awareness. SwissFlax GmbH forms the connection between the farmers in the Emmental, who having been growing flax again since 2014, and the linen market. SwissFlax buys the raw flax from the farmers and organises its further processing from solubilisation by machine to spinning of the fibres into high quality thread. On the one hand, customers are weaving mills and embroiderers, which use the thread for their own products, and textile companies on the other hand, which work in the clothing and home textiles industries and use the thread to make fabrics in line with their requirements.


Comments of the nominators

The collaboration between farmers and linen producers organised by SwissFlax appears exemplary precisely with regard to promoting a sustainable textile industry. SwissFlax has become increasing professional within just a few years and has developed a self-supporting business model. The application potential for Swiss linen is likely not to be exhausted for a long time.

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Nominee

Swiss Textiles Prize for 
Fashion and Textile Start-ups

 
 

SwissFlax GmbH –
Renaissance des Schweizer Flachs

Team/Board:

Marcel Meister, Hans Haslebacher, Hans Ramseier,
Adrian Brügger, Fritz Studer, Peter Steffen, Dominik Füglistaller


www.swissflax.ch


Partners:

Traxler AG: Label erfolg, Lanz-Anliker AG: Label Königliches, Möbel Pfister: Vorhänge, Rigotex AG: Küchentücher,Jenny Fabrics AG: Weben des Zwilchs, Bächi-Cord: Bindfaden, Zürcher Stalder AG: Retail, Mühle Landshut: Leinsamen,
Van de Bilt Zaden en Vlas: Brechen und Kammzug,
Linificio e Canapificio Nazionale: Spinnerei,
Tessanda Handweberei, Sattlerei Blaser GmbH,
Textil AG Huttwil: Strickerei, Paul Eggimann: Sattlerei, Mühle Kleeb AG: Backtücher, Schwob AG: Leinenweberei, IG Niutex, Naturfaserförderung Schweiz

Il n’y a guère d’autre secteur économique qui soit aujourd’hui aussi fortement marqué par la globalisation que l’industrie textile – les conséquences écologiques et sociales négatives de cette évolution sont connues. SwissFlax s’engage pour l’idée de durabilité et se base sur l’idée de mettre en place à nouveau des chaînes de création de valeur locales pour la production textile. La diversité du paysage, un travail proche de la nature, des chances de revenu pour la région parlent également pour cela, ainsi que des voies de transport courtes, une culture contrôlée et la conscience de la qualité suisse. La société SwissFlax GmbH forme le lien entre les agriculteurs de l’Emmental qui cultivent de nouveau le lin depuis 2014 et le marché du lin. SwissFlax rachète aux agriculteurs la paille de lin et organise son traitement ultérieur, depuis l’ouverture mécanique jusqu’à la filature des fibres pour les transformer en fil de haute qualité. Les clients sont d’une part des usines de tissage et de broderie, qui utilisent le fil pour leurs propres produits, et d’autre part des entreprises de textiles qui travaillent dans le domaine des vêtements et des textiles de maison et qui font fabriquer des étoffes à partir du fil en fonction de leurs besoins.


Comments of the nominators

La collaboration organisée par SwissFlax entre les agriculteurs et les producteurs de lin paraît exemplaire, justement eu égard à l’exigence d’une économie textile durable. En quelques années, SwissFlax s’est professionnalisée et a développé un modèle commercial viable. Le potentiel d’application du lin suisse est certainement loin d’être épuisé.