facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Textile Design

 
 

Bananatex®
by QWSTION

Founders:

Matthias Graf, Christian Kägi, Hannes Schönegger


Product Design:

Christian Kägi, Aline Mauch, Paolo Paoluzzo


Product Management:

Marcel Geser, Marianne Schoch


Graphic Design:

Pia Fischer, Matthias Graf


www.qwstion.com

www.bananatex.info

Sustainability and ecologically responsible production have always been part of the objectives of QWSTION, a bag label that was founded in Zurich in 2008. This is expressed in their search for plant based alternatives to environmentally polluting synthetic textiles, which are most commonly used in the industry to make bags. During this on-going research they came across the sturdy fibres of the Abacá, a banana bush, which is grown on the Philippines in sustainable agriculture. In an intensive three-year project they developed Bananatex® – the world’s first technical fabric made of the fibres of the banana plant. The functional textile has a range of properties advantageous for making bags: on the one hand, it is light and flexible, and on the other hand sturdy and long-lasting. Coated with natural bee’s wax, it’s also water-resistant. Bananatex® was developed as an open-source project and is therefore also available to other manufacturers.


Comments of the nominators

With Bananatex® the Zurich bag label QWSTION has managed to achieve a noteworthy fabric development, which impresses practically through the whole range. The remarkable and exemplary feature of this project also seems to be the full disclosure of the production and supply chain as well as the resource consumption. The fact that QWSTION has launched the fabric development as an open-source project and the textile is available to other companies, proves the credibility of the label in its commitment to a sustainable economic framework.  



Comments of the jury

Bananatex® is the result of a unique project, which was driven forwards by Qwstion with high risks and a great deal of dedication. The fabric, which came about from a natural, renewable raw material, is innovative, absolutely contemporary and sustainable in the best sense of the term. Its product qualities give rise to the hope that Bananatex® will soon replace synthetic materials in bag production. Apart from this, the textile should also find applications in other product categories. The fact that not solely ecological but also social aspects played an important role in the development of the textile, its manufacture and further processing – key word fair trade – rounds off the positive overall picture

facebook  instagram  newsletter

Winner

Textile Design

 
 

Bananatex®
by QWSTION

Founders:

Matthias Graf, Christian Kägi, Hannes Schönegger


Product Design:

Christian Kägi, Aline Mauch, Paolo Paoluzzo


Product Management:

Marcel Geser, Marianne Schoch


Graphic Design:

Pia Fischer, Matthias Graf


www.qwstion.com

www.bananatex.info

Le développement durable et une production écologiquement responsable font partie des objectifs centraux du label de sacs zurichois QWSTION, fondé en 2008. Cela s’exprime dans la recherche d’alternatives aux textiles synthétiques polluants, qui sont habituellement utilisés dans la branche pour la fabrication de sacs. A travers des recherches permanentes ils ont trouvé la robuste fibre de l’abacá, un bananier cultivé aux Philippines dans le cadre d’une sylviculture durable. Dans le cadre d’un travail intensif qui a duré trois ans, le Bananatex® est né, premier tissu technique au monde à base de fibres de bananier. Le textile fonctionnel et apte à la fabrication de sacs possède toute une série de propriétés avantageuses: il est d’une part léger et flexible, d’autre part robuste et durable. Enduit de cire d’abeille naturelle, il est en outre étanche. Bananatex® a été développé en tant que projet open source et il est donc également à la disposition d’autres fabricants.


Comments of the nominators

Avec Bananatex®, le label de sacs zurichois QWSTION a réussi un développement de matière remarquable, qui convainc pratiquement sur toute la ligne. Ce qui est remarquable et exemplaire dans ce projet, c’est aussi la divulgation sans réserve de la chaîne de production et de livraison ainsi que la consommation de ressources. Le fait que QWSTION lance le développement de la matière en tant que projet open source et mette le textile à la disposition d’autres entreprises prouve la crédibilité du label dans son engagement pour une économie durable.



Comments of the jury

Bananatex® est le résultat d’un projet exceptionnel, qui a été avancé par Qwstion au prix d’un risque élevé et d’un grand engagement. La matière, qui est issue d’une matière première naturelle et renouvelable, est innovante, absolument moderne et durable au meilleur sens du terme. Les qualités du produit laissent espérer que Bananatex® va bientôt évincer à grande échelle les matières synthétiques dans la production de sacs. Cela mis à part, le textile devrait trouver des applications également dans d’autres catégories de produits. Le fait que dans le développement du textile, dans sa fabrication et son traitement, des aspects non seulement écologiques mais aussi sociaux aient joué un rôle important – mot-clé: commerce équitable – complète la vue d’ensemble positive.